-

Photo
- - - - -

no more 2.0 mixes?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic

#1 of 4 OFFLINE   Franklin

Franklin

Agent

• 29 posts

Posted October 29 2003 - 03:44 AM

it seems to me that most recent DVD releases no longer offer a standard 2.0 audio mix and plays in 5.1 by default. this is fine when i'm watching discs on my setup, but more often than not im watching a flick on a friend's or the family TV that uses only the basic setup. the sound is unbalanced and dialoge is hard to hear. if there isn't a 2.0 mix available on the disc, such as on the new Indy box, is there a way to get an even sound through a standard TV? thanks!

#2 of 4 OFFLINE   Mark Murphy

Mark Murphy

Supporting Actor

• 628 posts

Posted October 29 2003 - 04:18 AM

I'm by no means an expert, but I think Dolby's website says that the 5.1 signal "downmixes" to stereo 2.0 signal when necessary.

I got this from the Dolby website:

7. Can I hear 5.1-channel Dolby Digital programs over a regular stereo or Dolby Surround Pro Logic system?

Yes. All Dolby Digital decoders, whether 5.1-channel or two-channel, have a unique feature called "downmixing" that assures full compatibility with any playback system. At your option, the decoder will create "on the fly" from 5.1-channel programs a two-channel, Dolby Surround-encoded mix for playback over a home theater system with Dolby Surround Pro Logic decoding; a two-channel stereo mix for regular stereo and headphone playback; or a mono mix for playback over a mono TV set. See Figure 7-1.