Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Analog to Digital Converter


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 Christo Ramo

Christo Ramo

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 152 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 2003

Posted October 20 2003 - 06:45 AM

The other day I noticed that Radio Shack sells a analog to digital audio converter. Has anyone ever used on of these things? I would imagine it isn't a true digital connection but would it be 5.1?

#2 of 6 Lew Crippen

Lew Crippen

    Executive Producer

  • 12,060 posts
  • Join Date: May 19 2002

Posted October 20 2003 - 07:54 AM

Christo I assume from your question that the converter in question is for audio.

But in any case, whatever signal you get at the beginning (let us suppose analog PCM or analog Dolby surround) won’t be turned into a new format (5.1) by being turned into a digital signal.

What most analog/’digital converters do (and I cannot say for sure about the one in question, as I don’t know any details), is take an analog signal and digitize it. The exact signal, without addition or subtraction (although some information may be lost in the conversion process).

There is no way that a converter can extract 2-channel information and change it to 5.1

However, there are some electronics that do simulate surround sound. Dolby II for example. Not everyone is thrilled with the results, although there is certainly a big market for this.

I’m reasonably certain that this is not what the Radio Shack converter does.
¡Time is not my master!

#3 of 6 JohnnyG

JohnnyG

    Screenwriter

  • 1,523 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 18 2000

Posted October 20 2003 - 07:58 AM

Hmmm...I'll have to look into this thing. If it's reasonably priced, it could be a solution to my digital cable box problem where there's no digital audio on the analog channels. I have to switch inputs on my A/V receiver and it's a pain.

Wait a minute...then I'd have 2 seperate digital audio connections, so I'd still need some kind of auto switch. ARRGG!!

#4 of 6 Christo Ramo

Christo Ramo

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 152 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 2003

Posted October 21 2003 - 10:04 AM

Thanks for the info... Today I called raidio shack and the guy said it will not be a true digital but I will get 5.1. That kind of confused me, doesn't it have to be digital to get 5.1? Either way I am going to give it a try in the next couple of days. I will keep you guys posted...

#5 of 6 Lew Crippen

Lew Crippen

    Executive Producer

  • 12,060 posts
  • Join Date: May 19 2002

Posted October 21 2003 - 10:16 AM

I think that the guy is wrong. You can’t get information that was never present to begin with.

But let us know how it sounds.
¡Time is not my master!

#6 of 6 ChrisWiggles

ChrisWiggles

    Producer

  • 4,791 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted October 21 2003 - 03:13 PM

Is this what you are talking about? :

http://www.radioshac......5Fid=15-1242

"Convert the audio output to digital audio and/or convert the composite video output to S-video. Simple to use with your choice of S-video and/or PCM or Toslink outputs."

So for audio it looks like it just turns stereo into PCM. There's no DD/DTS involved, obviously. Radio shack folks I find vary by their knowledge. Some know a lot, some don't know what they're talking about. Looks like you spoke to someone that fit the latter description.