Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

PS2 to receiver hook up question


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   TonyNoles

TonyNoles

    Extra



  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 21 2003

Posted October 13 2003 - 03:22 AM

Hello. I want to hook up my PS2 to my Sony receiver (S50ES) using an optical cable. On the back of my receiver it has an optical out for a md/dat and optical out for a tv/sat. Can someone tell me which one I need to plug in to? Thanks for any help.

#2 of 7 ONLINE   John Garcia

John Garcia

    Executive Producer



  • 11,559 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 24 1999
  • Real Name:John
  • LocationNorCal

Posted October 13 2003 - 03:42 AM

Well, you can't plug it into an OUTPUT (MD/DAT) and expect to get sound, but if the TV/SAT is an input, that is the one you will want to use. Does it say "output" on both of them?
HT: Emotiva UMC-200, Emotiva XPA-3, Carnegie Acoustics CSB-1s + CSC-1, GR Research A/V-1s, Epik Empire, Oppo BDP-105, PS4, PS3,URC R-50, APC-H10, Panamax 5100 Bluejeans Cable
System Two: Marantz PM7200, Pioneer FS52s, Panasonic BD79
(stolen) : Marantz SR-8300, GR Research A/V-2s, Sony SCD-222ES SACD, Panasonic BD-65, PS3 60G (250G)

Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” – Albert Einstein

 


#3 of 7 OFFLINE   TonyNoles

TonyNoles

    Extra



  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 21 2003

Posted October 13 2003 - 04:15 AM

Hi John. They both say input on them.

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   Agustin

Agustin

    Agent



  • 41 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 2003

Posted October 13 2003 - 05:03 AM

ok, if both say INPUT no matter, just plug and listen
Acdbulls in other games forums

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   Sebastian

Sebastian

    Second Unit



  • 363 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 13 2002

Posted October 14 2003 - 08:05 PM

Don't forget to change the system config on your PS2. I think you press select and then look for audio options. Makes ure your optical output is set to on and you turn on dolby digital and DTS if your reciever supports DD and DTS.

#6 of 7 ONLINE   John Garcia

John Garcia

    Executive Producer



  • 11,559 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 24 1999
  • Real Name:John
  • LocationNorCal

Posted October 15 2003 - 03:36 AM

Sorry, I meant do they both say "input" on them. Since they do, you're in luck. As Augstin said, since they are both inputs, it doesn't matter which one. To turn on DTS, you have to put in a DVD movie, otherwise the option to turn on DTS in the PS2s menu is not available.
HT: Emotiva UMC-200, Emotiva XPA-3, Carnegie Acoustics CSB-1s + CSC-1, GR Research A/V-1s, Epik Empire, Oppo BDP-105, PS4, PS3,URC R-50, APC-H10, Panamax 5100 Bluejeans Cable
System Two: Marantz PM7200, Pioneer FS52s, Panasonic BD79
(stolen) : Marantz SR-8300, GR Research A/V-2s, Sony SCD-222ES SACD, Panasonic BD-65, PS3 60G (250G)

Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” – Albert Einstein

 


#7 of 7 OFFLINE   TonyNoles

TonyNoles

    Extra



  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 21 2003

Posted October 15 2003 - 10:47 AM

Thanks guys. I have it hooked up now and I should have done this long ago. It sounds awesome.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users