Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Rainbow Six 3 for XBOX won't support widescreen nor 720p.

Xbox

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 James_tango

James_tango

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 58 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 30 2003

Posted October 12 2003 - 02:58 AM

http://www.avsforum.....hreadid=312425

Posted Image

#2 of 9 Trent_N

Trent_N

    Agent

  • 46 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 08 2002

Posted October 12 2003 - 04:32 AM

They shouldn't have told us that bull about 720p support if it wasn't written in stone. I'm sure they intended to, but for whatever reason it didn't work out. I intended to purchase the game, but for whatever reason it's not going to work out.

#3 of 9 Jay Mitchosky

Jay Mitchosky

    Producer

  • 3,740 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 06 1998

Posted October 12 2003 - 07:29 AM

Quote:
It is just laziness, and ignorance.
Posted Image Hell of a blanket statement when the issues behind Ubi Soft's decision are unknown. I don't believe Splinter Cell supported 720p or widescreen but it still kicked ass.

I can see the direction this thread is likely to take so am asking in advance to keep it on the level.
"The computer had attained consciousness, only to reject it, claiming it was too unstable an operating system."

#4 of 9 JamesHl

JamesHl

    Supporting Actor

  • 813 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2003

Posted October 12 2003 - 08:30 AM

I imagine they just probably couldn't get it looking reasonable at the higher resolution. You could try to make it faster by turning off all the bells and whistles, but perhaps it still dropped too many frames. Plus, the bells and whistles are part of what makes the unreal warfare engine neat, the physics engine and all.

#5 of 9 Jason Harbaugh

Jason Harbaugh

    Screenwriter

  • 2,968 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2001

Posted October 12 2003 - 08:47 AM

I asked the developer at E3 this and even then they said was pretty much wasn't going to happen. So not sure what the big surprise is, although I missed any rumor announcements that it was going to support them.

#6 of 9 JamesH

JamesH

    Supporting Actor

  • 664 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 28 2000

Posted October 12 2003 - 08:47 PM

720p over 480p isn't nearly the jump that 480p over 480i is. Plus, RS3 already isn't the smoothest running game, so it's possible they just couldn't do it. Developers who leave 480p out of games(The Thing, MGS2:S, Resident Evil etc.) are "lazy and ignorant" because it's the current commonly accepted standard for games, but 720p is still an "extra".

As for 16X9, I was never expecting that... RS3 was originally a PC game after all.

#7 of 9 Dave F

Dave F

    Screenwriter

  • 2,891 posts
  • Join Date: May 15 1999

Posted October 13 2003 - 11:11 AM

Quote:
Developers who leave 480p out of games(The Thing, MGS2:S, Resident Evil etc.)
MGS2 for Xbox is in 480p, it's just mislabeled (Like Splinter Cell).

-Dave
DVD List

#8 of 9 Chris_Young

Chris_Young

    Auditioning

  • 11 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 10 2003

Posted October 14 2003 - 09:17 AM

I agree that 720p on the Xbox is a waste of time. It just doesn't look that much better than 480p and I noticed some slowdown on games such as Freedom Fighters.

However, in 2003, it is outrageous not to have 16x9 support in any game. And JamesH, if you had a widescreen monitor you would know that most PC games support 16x9, including RS3.

As disgusted as I am with Ubisoft for shortchanging us, I will probably break down and buy it...
Christopher Young
Seattle, WA

#9 of 9 Derrik Draven

Derrik Draven

    Supporting Actor

  • 932 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 07 1998

Posted October 14 2003 - 09:43 AM

Yeah, I'm going to pick it up too. The gameplay is too good. Well, at least as far as I can tell from the demo.

Right now, everything looks somewhat bad to me. I finally finished my home theater room and moved all my equipment back in.

Yesterday was the 1st day in over 2 years that I've played ANY gaming on my 60" RPTV Proscan. The Xbox wasn't even available then. I forgot how blowing up an image to that size shows all the deficiencies that a 32" tube tv doesn't.

It's cool with everything being so big but, games still don't look as good as the tube upstairs.
Better to have a gun and not need it, than to need a gun and not have it.





Forum Nav Content I Follow