-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Halo: PC Version - views and comments


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
77 replies to this topic

#1 of 78 Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh

    Producer

  • 5,183 posts
  • Join Date: May 22 1999

Posted October 02 2003 - 07:42 AM

Ran out before lunch and picked it up. The day is going to drag until I get home tonight. I'm looking forward to multiplayer. Anyone installed it yet?

#2 of 78 Brian J Dupuis

Brian J Dupuis

    Second Unit

  • 341 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 08 2001

Posted October 02 2003 - 08:23 AM

No. Worried about performance on my system, so I'm waiting to hear from folks with similar systems. My graphics card should be enough for low-end work (GF4 Ti4200), but my CPU is below the minimum (PIII/667). Let us know how it goes Posted Image.
"I seem to be having tremendous difficulty with my lifestyle." - Arthur Dent

#3 of 78 AaronMg

AaronMg

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 248 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 20 2002

Posted October 02 2003 - 08:55 AM

Apperently this game chugs even some of the fastest computers. From what I have seen from the screenies, the Xbox version still looks better (for some strange reason).
Multyplay should be awesome though.

#4 of 78 Jeremy Anderson

Jeremy Anderson

    Screenwriter

  • 1,052 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 1999

Posted October 02 2003 - 09:35 AM

I've got an Athlon 2200+, 512mb, Geforce 4 Ti4200... and Halo stutters quite a bit in 800x600 (whereas UT2003 runs smooth as butter at 1024x768 with all options on). The multiplayer really isn't all that it's cracked up to be either. Basically, I'll be sticking to the XBox version when I need my fix.

#5 of 78 Romier S

Romier S

    Producer

  • 3,533 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 02 1999

Posted October 02 2003 - 10:04 AM

For those having performance issues right click on the games shortcut and add "-use11" (without the quotations). This forces the game to use pixel shader version 1.1. This gave me a large FPS boost in firefights. You can also use "-use14" or "-use20" for the 1.4 and 2.0 version. I run a p43.06 gig, 768mb of ram and a 9700 pro. I have the game running with everything on high and 1280X960 resolution. Frame limiter set to 30fps and at 70hz. All the eye candy is lovely (and at the highest settings the PC version is completely the equal to if not surpaassing the Xbox version) and I get a fairly smooth experience (with drops in large firefights).

The Xbox version is by far a smoother experience but with some tweaking you can get Halo running pretty nicely on a moderatoe system (though you'll inevitably be foreced to remove some of the prettiness like the specular shading and shadows. (both of which are the biggest killers of framerate next to resolution).

Hope that helps.

#6 of 78 NickSo

NickSo

    Producer

  • 4,274 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2000

Posted October 02 2003 - 10:35 AM

Romier: Do we add it into the target line? as in

Quote:
"C:Program FilesHalohalo.exe" -use11


#7 of 78 Romier S

Romier S

    Producer

  • 3,533 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 02 1999

Posted October 02 2003 - 11:09 AM

Correct Nick.

#8 of 78 Dave F

Dave F

    Screenwriter

  • 2,891 posts
  • Join Date: May 15 1999

Posted October 02 2003 - 11:13 AM

I had areas stutter at 800x600 at the default settings, but once I removed the 30fps limiter and switched to vsync, the same areas were smooth at 1024x768.
(p4 2.5gz, G4 Ti4200, 1GB ram)

-Dave
DVD List

#9 of 78 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Executive Producer

  • 15,887 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted October 02 2003 - 05:12 PM

Seems so-so to me so far. Ya wanna know what I miss the most? The chuggachuggachugga vibration when shooting the chain gun from the back of the Warthog.

Will take some getting used to.

Sam

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#10 of 78 Travis Olson

Travis Olson

    Supporting Actor

  • 936 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 07 2001

Posted October 02 2003 - 08:03 PM

Runs at a decent 30 FPS on my setup at 1024x768 although in big fire fights in indoor areas it will occasionally become a slide show. Athlon 2500+ Barton, Radeon 9500 Pro, 1GB PC2700 DDR. It's a definite improvement over the Xbox version graphics wise, the lighting is outstanding and a lot of surfaces are bump mapped.

Brian, I wouldn't even bother with that processor. I put it on my P3 1GHZ, 512MB RAM, GF4 Ti4200 128MB and it was a slidshow at 1024x768. Never tried lower resolutions though so you may have some luck.

#11 of 78 Brian J Dupuis

Brian J Dupuis

    Second Unit

  • 341 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 08 2001

Posted October 03 2003 - 02:06 AM

Travis, if you get bored I'd love to know what you get at 640x480 on that PIII Posted Image.
"I seem to be having tremendous difficulty with my lifestyle." - Arthur Dent

#12 of 78 NickSo

NickSo

    Producer

  • 4,274 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2000

Posted October 03 2003 - 05:02 AM

Well I ran it on my Athlon XP1700+, 512MB, Geforce2GTS at 640x480, medium texture detail, and i must say its DEFINITELY very playable. Except at load/save points, the rest of the time its fairly smooth.

Then again, im not a real stickler for graphic quality (ive been running 1-generation behind hardware all the time), i just want playability.


#13 of 78 david kennedy

david kennedy

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 88 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 04 2003

Posted October 06 2003 - 03:43 PM

I have had no problems with the game chugging but i do have a problem with the effects. When i am shooting the pistol or the auto rifle i can never see the gun's firing effects. I am using a p4 with a geforce 4600. Has anyone else had this problem.

#14 of 78 Jason Harbaugh

Jason Harbaugh

    Screenwriter

  • 2,968 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2001

Posted October 07 2003 - 06:08 AM

At E3 we had to drop it to 800x600 on a speedy machine running a 9800 pro just to get decent frame rates and it was still choppy.

#15 of 78 Christopher_P

Christopher_P

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 108 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 08 2002

Posted October 07 2003 - 11:19 AM

1.4ghz Tbird
1gig O DDR
Radeon9800pro

Runs fine here. 1024res high settings etc.. My x1010 laptop however blue screens and reboots 5mins into playing though. Not that I was getting top end performance off a centario lappy lol.

#16 of 78 Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh

    Producer

  • 5,183 posts
  • Join Date: May 22 1999

Posted October 07 2003 - 06:01 PM

I'm at the "If I only had a super weapon..." level.

Some observations:

- Sometimes there is a graphic of a weapon on the ground, but you cannot run over it and get the "Press E to swap weapons".

- During heavy shooting scenes, the plasma blast and sound effects get out of sync (could be my modest grade computer)

- Assault rifle graphics - cannot see the bullets flying like I remembered with the XBox version. (once again - could be my computer).

- Using a sniper rifle against hunters, I cannot see gaps in the armor like the XBox version that gave a 1-shot, 1-kill.

- Shots from the Scorpion tank seem to do more collaterial damage (bigger blast radius). I cleared an entire bridge in just 2 shots.

Looking forward to any hacks (like unlimited ammo). I really want to try several levels with just the pistol.

#17 of 78 Max Leung

Max Leung

    Producer

  • 4,612 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 06 2000

Posted October 07 2003 - 07:20 PM

Bob, I noticed the swap weapons problem too!

This game chugs in the docking bay of the Truth and Reconciliation level, hitting framerates around 15 FPS (I'm using VSYNC, 800x600, hardware sound acceleration). I have an Athlon 2200 XP, 1 GB RAM, nForce2 mobo with Soundstorm, and a modest Geforce4 Ti 4400.

I'll try that -use11 command line next...thanks for the tip!
Mahatma Gandhi, as you know, walked barefoot most of the time, which produced an impressive set of calluses on his feet. He also ate very little, which made him rather frail and with his odd diet, he suffered from bad breath. This made him...a super-callused fragile mystic hexed by halitosis.

Gamesh....

#18 of 78 John_Berger

John_Berger

    Screenwriter

  • 2,489 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 01 2001

Posted October 09 2003 - 02:45 PM

I'll try again with the -use11 function, because firefights (only in enclosed areas) make the game totally unplayable on my Athlon 1.4 GHz w/ 128 MB GeForce 5200 system.

Otherwise, what can I say about this game? It's actually another game called "Red Line", only enhanced a bit and released by Microsoft. I'm not vastly impressed, but there is enough to keep my interest so far -- if the -use11 works.

#19 of 78 John_Berger

John_Berger

    Screenwriter

  • 2,489 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 01 2001

Posted October 09 2003 - 03:03 PM

Yup. The -use11 works like a champ! Thanks, Romier!

#20 of 78 Scott L

Scott L

    Producer

  • 4,466 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 29 2000

Posted October 09 2003 - 05:25 PM

With -use11 do you guys notice any decrease in quality?