Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Subwoofer Feedback


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 OFFLINE   KevinST

KevinST

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 55 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 15 2000

Posted September 29 2003 - 08:22 AM

Hello,
I have not posted in months, but here it goes

I have an onkyo SR 800 reciver with all Klipsch speakers for the 7 channels and the sub. I have the KSW12 subwoofer in there. Once in a while, when i turn off the reciver, about 2 seconds later i get an obnoxiously loud feedback tone (more like a rumble) that is not controllable with the volume nob on the sub. The only way to shut it off is to turn the reciever back on and off again.

It use to do this with my old reciver, and onkyo DX475 i think and the JBL 10 subwoofer I had on that.

I keep my klipsch sub in the auto power mode and use both the line level and the rca inputs (that is how i was told to set it up.) I have however had this experience with both subs and recievers using either input or both and i have even had it happen one time in the middle of the night about three hours after the reciever was powered off.

any suggestions on what is doing this with two totally different set ups?

Thanks in advance,
Ciao
Kevin

#2 of 9 OFFLINE   David Judah

David Judah

    Screenwriter



  • 1,479 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 1999

Posted September 29 2003 - 10:42 AM

Have you tried changing the sub cable? You might have a loose connector.

DJ
Lecktor: Then how did you catch me?
Graham: You had disadvantages.
Lecktor: What disadvantages?
Graham: You're insane.

#3 of 9 OFFLINE   KevinST

KevinST

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 55 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 15 2000

Posted September 29 2003 - 11:05 AM

yup, different cable between the two systesm, thanks for the suggestion

#4 of 9 OFFLINE   David Judah

David Judah

    Screenwriter



  • 1,479 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 1999

Posted September 30 2003 - 06:12 AM

Maybe one of the RCA connectors is loose on one of the pieces of equipment.

DJ
Lecktor: Then how did you catch me?
Graham: You had disadvantages.
Lecktor: What disadvantages?
Graham: You're insane.

#5 of 9 OFFLINE   KevinST

KevinST

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 55 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 15 2000

Posted October 01 2003 - 04:39 AM

good try, but it use to happen with my old reciever and sub, then i got the new reciever and it still happened, so i thought it was the sub, then i got a new sub and it still happens??? that is the perplexing part of it.

#6 of 9 OFFLINE   ScottCarr

ScottCarr

    Second Unit



  • 459 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 27 2003

Posted October 01 2003 - 05:06 AM

Sounds likes it electrical.
My recommendation is to;
move the sub to another room and see what happens when you plug it in and leave it on for a while.

If there is no rumble.
plug it back into the original plug without connecting the sub cable and see if it happens.

If rumbling then there is an electrical issue.

If there is no rumbling
with your receiver and all other components off connect th sub cable to the receiver

Rumbling ground loop
No rumbling turn on the receiver.
Any rumbling ground loop.

If it is a ground loop parts express sells ground loop isolators.

Good luck

#7 of 9 OFFLINE   KevinST

KevinST

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 55 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 15 2000

Posted October 01 2003 - 05:16 AM

I will check into a ground loop isolator, but i have moved to a different house and still have the issue, but that might be the key.

Thanks,

Ciao,
Kevin

#8 of 9 OFFLINE   Jon_Krug

Jon_Krug

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 56 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 04 2003

Posted October 01 2003 - 06:12 AM

maybe a ground loop problem? i have a problem with either my tv or cable, and am waiting for a line conditioner to fix that.

#9 of 9 OFFLINE   KevinST

KevinST

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 55 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 15 2000

Posted October 01 2003 - 06:27 AM

i had a line conditioner at one point, just for the heck of it, and i could not get tv channel 2 at all, took it out and have never had a problem since then