Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Cable TV - cable quality important?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic

#1 of 4 OFFLINE   Denis LeM-S

Denis LeM-S

Auditioning

• 3 posts

Posted September 12 2003 - 01:24 AM

Firstly, I apologise for my ignorance - I am new to HT, new to cable TV, and new to the USA (just moved from the UK)!

I am having a dedicated HT installed with front projection onto a 103 inch screen. This will be mainly for DVDs, but I also want to use it for occasional TV viewing, particularly HDTV.

I have digital cable installed to the house, and the cable is currently exposed, waiting to be buried after buiding work is completed. It occurred to me that this would be an opportunity to have the cable TV supplier use a better quality cable for the main run into the house, IF there is such a thing as 'better quality cable' in this respect.

Any thoughts? I already plan to make sure that the cable to the HT area is direct from the main supply cable - no multiple splitters to pass through, etc.

#2 of 4 OFFLINE   ChrisLazarko

ChrisLazarko

Supporting Actor

• 867 posts

Posted September 13 2003 - 04:39 AM

Well if you are talking about for cable TV, you shouldn't really have a problem as long as the house is fairly new. Usually cable problems won't occur on cables for about 20 years and even then can be fixed by just putting new tips on usually. So in reality yes you can get a bigger cable but spending the money on it is somewhat pointless as the signal quality won't be anywhere near noticeable.

#3 of 4 OFFLINE   Darren Rowley

Darren Rowley

Extra

• 15 posts

Posted September 13 2003 - 07:03 PM