Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

How to send centre signal to the front speakers


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   BenSummers

BenSummers

    Auditioning



  • 11 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 10 2003

Posted September 04 2003 - 08:21 PM

How do you do this, without shorting the 2 front inputs together which would obviously make a mono signal?
Do you use isolation transformers to split the centre signal?
I'm talking about line level here btw

#2 of 8 OFFLINE   Lewis Besze

Lewis Besze

    Producer



  • 3,134 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 28 1999

Posted September 04 2003 - 08:38 PM

In the speaker set up menu option set center to "none" or "phantom" if you still have DPL only receiver.

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   Brian Fellmeth

Brian Fellmeth

    Supporting Actor



  • 792 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2000

Posted September 05 2003 - 01:40 AM

As Lewis says, your receiver will do this for you with a setting. Identical copies of the center signal are summed to the right and left fronts. If the fronts are set up well, the center channel information will be heard as an image centered precisly betweent the mains. The best HT I've ever heard has no center channel- yet the dialog came right from the center of the screen via this mechanism.

#4 of 8 OFFLINE   BenSummers

BenSummers

    Auditioning



  • 11 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 10 2003

Posted September 05 2003 - 12:20 PM

Sorry, this is no receiver, it's a soundcard with each of the 5.1 channels outputted at line level, I haven't got a centre speaker, so I want to mix this line level output into the front l/r outputs and then into the fronts' amp without making the fronts mono. How do you do this?
Sorry, that should make it clearer, what I want to do.

A software option would also be ok - a little app that sends the centre to the fronts, anyone know of one for the audigy?
Ah just had a thought, I could send the centre channel back into the line in, and then it would come out of the fronts, but would it bridge them? I'll have to see...

Thanks anyway Posted Image

#5 of 8 OFFLINE   Seth_L

Seth_L

    Screenwriter



  • 1,553 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 05 2002

Posted September 05 2003 - 12:22 PM

Set your audigy to 4.1 sound.

#6 of 8 OFFLINE   BenSummers

BenSummers

    Auditioning



  • 11 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 10 2003

Posted September 05 2003 - 09:25 PM

Well for some reason there's no 4.1 option (only headphone,2,4 or 5.1), if you know how to get 4.1 please tell me Posted Image
Thanks

#7 of 8 OFFLINE   DaveKahler

DaveKahler

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 73 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 2002

Posted September 06 2003 - 07:28 AM

just set it to 4 speakers

#8 of 8 OFFLINE   BenSummers

BenSummers

    Auditioning



  • 11 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 10 2003

Posted September 06 2003 - 09:15 PM

but then i get no sub Posted Image