Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

can't figure out how to get my tv audio to come through the speakers...


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
18 replies to this topic

#1 of 19 Mike Matthews

Mike Matthews

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 140 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 01 2003

Posted August 28 2003 - 04:42 PM

i get DVD and CD audio fine, but i can't figure out how to get the tv audio coming out.

i have a Denon AVR-2802 and i have the tv's audio out running into the TV/DBS jacks on the receiver via a standard red/white rca cable.

what am i doing wrong? is it because i set the input for tv to "coaxial"? the only options were "optical 1, optical 2, optical 3, coaxial, and off"

#2 of 19 AlbertA

AlbertA

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 107 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 03 1999

Posted August 28 2003 - 05:02 PM

Switch your receiver to TV/DBS and select analog(on your remote or front panel). That should work...

The settings you are taking about are for a digital connection(fiber optic or coaxial) reassignment.
“Music is the arithmetic of sounds as optics is the geometry of light.” --Claude Debussy

#3 of 19 Mike Matthews

Mike Matthews

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 140 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 01 2003

Posted August 28 2003 - 05:43 PM

hmm - still not working...even when it says analog

theoretically, my connections are right, aren't they?

TV Audio Out -> Receiver TV/DBS

#4 of 19 AlbertA

AlbertA

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 107 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 03 1999

Posted August 28 2003 - 05:53 PM

Yes, your connections are right.

I would check for a setting on the TV itself...
What TV do you have?
“Music is the arithmetic of sounds as optics is the geometry of light.” --Claude Debussy

#5 of 19 Mike Matthews

Mike Matthews

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 140 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 01 2003

Posted August 28 2003 - 06:23 PM

it's an RCA...belongs to my roommate.

see, i have the DVD player running to the receiver through S Video. then i have the TV running to the receiver through S Video as well. i also have the red/white a/v cable running from the tv to the receiver.

when i watch a DVD, i hit "input" on the tv remote and it says S Video in the top right corner of the screen. when i select tv/dbs and hit "input," it says "Video 00" in the top right corner and "Unusable Signal" in the bottom left. not sure if that helps...

and i still get volume through the tv speakers...

#6 of 19 AlbertA

AlbertA

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 107 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 03 1999

Posted August 28 2003 - 06:38 PM

Let me see if got it right, your TV has not only audio out, but video out also right (in s-video)?
You should not connect the video output to the receiver since this is just going to create a nasty loop... as you witnessed by your tv telling "unusable signal", (think about it, you are trying to display what the receiver is sending to the tv, but your receiver is sending what the tv is sending it .... you get the idea)

Still, that should not be a problem. You are trying to watch regular TV right? Have you browsed the menus on the TV?. I am almost sure there is a setting there that's preventing audio from coming out through the audio out.
“Music is the arithmetic of sounds as optics is the geometry of light.” --Claude Debussy

#7 of 19 Mike Matthews

Mike Matthews

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 140 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 01 2003

Posted August 28 2003 - 06:50 PM

yes, the TV has Audio Out and an S Video Out, and i'm just trying to watch regular tv and have the sound come from the speakers. i'll check the tv remote more thoroughly in the morning



hmm - so should i just be sending the S Video straight from the DVD to the tv? where does the receiver play into this equation?

#8 of 19 AlbertA

AlbertA

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 107 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 03 1999

Posted August 28 2003 - 06:54 PM

Are you are sending the S-video out from the DVD player to the receiver, and the S-video monitor out on the receiver to an INPUT on your TV? (This is fine to do)

or..

Are you sending a TV s-video output to the receiver TV/DBS s-video input? (This is the one you should avoid doing)

Anyway, have you looked at the settings on the TV for your audio problem?
“Music is the arithmetic of sounds as optics is the geometry of light.” --Claude Debussy

#9 of 19 Jeff Gatie

Jeff Gatie

    Lead Actor

  • 6,529 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted August 29 2003 - 12:37 AM

You may have to turn the audio out to "on" in the TV menu. Just a suggestion.

#10 of 19 brentl

brentl

    Screenwriter

  • 2,918 posts
  • Join Date: May 07 1999

Posted August 29 2003 - 02:18 AM

You may also only be able to use the speaker level outs from the TV if you turn the internal speakers OFF!!

Brent

#11 of 19 Mike Matthews

Mike Matthews

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 140 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 01 2003

Posted August 29 2003 - 03:48 AM

man, i checked everything and can't figure it out! the tv has a VERY limited menu...the only adjustments i could make were to have the speakers "on" or "off" - neither trick worked

#12 of 19 Ted Lee

Ted Lee

    Lead Actor

  • 8,398 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2001

Posted August 29 2003 - 06:21 AM

i'm not familiar with your receiver. it sounds like you can assign various inputs to particular buttons?

have you tried moving the connection from the tv/dbs to a different one (try cd). at least that way you'll know if it's a problem with that input.

maybe the tv isn't giving a fixed-level output (doubtful, but possible i guess). with the tv speakers set to "off", try cranking up the tv's volume. see if that makes any difference.
 

#13 of 19 Mike Matthews

Mike Matthews

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 140 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 01 2003

Posted August 29 2003 - 07:24 AM

well, i set the tv speakers to "off", cranked the tv volume, and it worked!

thanks, guys!

#14 of 19 Ted Lee

Ted Lee

    Lead Actor

  • 8,398 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2001

Posted August 29 2003 - 09:07 AM

glad it worked.

then your tv has what's called a "variable output".

try not to crank the tv volume too loud, otherwise you'll send a distorted signal to your receiver. i would say about 3/4 should be good.
 

#15 of 19 Mike Matthews

Mike Matthews

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 140 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 01 2003

Posted September 01 2003 - 04:21 PM

what exactly is a distorted signal? will that cause some sort of damage to the receiver, or just make the sound coming out of the speakers bad?

also - even with the tv volume 3/4 of the way up, i still have to turn the receiver up to around 20 or 15 below reference level (check me out, using the terminology!). i don't suppose there's any way to alter that, is there? i just hate to have it up that loud in case a roommate decides to switch to a CD without lowering the volume and gets blasted away cause it's so loud

#16 of 19 AlbertA

AlbertA

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 107 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 03 1999

Posted September 02 2003 - 02:31 AM

A distorted signals won't damage your receiver, but it has the potential to damage your speakers (you'll know when it's distorted, because as you said the sound will be bad).

So if you crank the TV volume all the way up and you can't hear distortion, then it's fine.

I just make it a habit to turn down the volume before shutting down the receiver( for similar reasons to yours).
“Music is the arithmetic of sounds as optics is the geometry of light.” --Claude Debussy

#17 of 19 Ted Lee

Ted Lee

    Lead Actor

  • 8,398 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2001

Posted September 02 2003 - 07:05 AM

Quote:
So if you crank the TV volume all the way up and you can't hear distortion, then it's fine.
agreed. i should have said, "start around 3/4 and experiment...".

typically, most tv's start distorting somewhere around 3/4, but i wouldn't say it's a hard-fast rule.

if you can crank it all the way, and it still sounds fine, then go for it.
 

#18 of 19 Mike Matthews

Mike Matthews

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 140 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 01 2003

Posted September 04 2003 - 06:19 AM

quick question...

there's something wrong with the cable in my entire apartment complex. there are 2 specific channels that will sort of "feed back" when there is too much of the color white on the screen. it kind of makes this crappy, loud, hard to describe sound. i wonder if that sound is bad for my speakers...

#19 of 19 AlbertA

AlbertA

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 107 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 03 1999

Posted September 04 2003 - 06:35 AM

I also have that problem, mostly on bad channels when text appears there's that sound you described.

Not really anything you can do, except turn down the volume(before changing onto any bad channels), or never watch those channels...

I don't think it's bad for the speakers if you listen at moderate volumes, I guess you can just be careful...
“Music is the arithmetic of sounds as optics is the geometry of light.” --Claude Debussy