-

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Basic HDTV Hookup Questions

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 DaveSp

DaveSp

Agent

• 27 posts

Posted August 26 2003 - 12:21 PM

Based on reviews I've read here I've been looking online at the the Toshiba 51H83 HDTV. I've been reading as much info as I can (I'm a newbie), including the FAQ and the downloadable user manual from Toshiba's site. But some basic setup for HDTV is still unclear to me. My prime interest is using a progressive DVD player and that hookup I understand. Just what additional is needed to connect a monitor like this to cable TV? The BestBuy ad says:

- Standard-definition, enhanced-definition and high-definition digital television monitors require an optional set-top box to decode over-the-air digital TV broadcasts

This first question applies to standard TV signals, not HDTV. The user manual shows a direct hookup to either a coax antenna cable or a "converter box". I would have thought a receiver of some sort is necessary (VCR works?).

For HDTV, I understand that converter/receiver of some form is necessary. I have Comcast here in Seattle - if they offer HDTV signal support, would they also offer any necessary in-line receiver/converter?

Sorry for the seemingly dumb questions - I'm trying to get a handle on what the bare necessities are.

Dave Sparks

#2 of 7 Jeff Gatie

Jeff Gatie

Lead Actor

• 6,529 posts

Posted August 26 2003 - 01:42 PM

The TV comes with a standard NTSC tuner built in. This will allow you to receive standard TV cable or antenna throught the coax input. The Best buy info is misleading, you only need a separate box for HDTV.