What's new

Need Suggestion's on speaker package (1 Viewer)

nagesh

Grip
Hi,
I am looking for complete home theater package. Since, I am a student and I dont want to spend more than $150, It sounds weird as all the good speakers are much above that range, But still i am ready to buy those open box deals. I own a Denon AVR-1603 Receiver. I looked for this Audio-source speaker deals ($60) at onecall.com but it sound pretty cheap and I never heard of this company even. Anyway, I am looking for a decent speaker system which can match my Receiver.
:) - Reasonably priced,Good quality sound,Durability.
I would really appreciate for your Precious Advice.

Jon_Welker

Second Unit
nagesh, is that Rolla, MO? I live right up the road in St. Louis if it is. Anyway, you're going to be pretty hard pressed to buy 2 decent fronts for $150, let alone a 5.1 system. I think the best advice I could give you would be to piecemeal a speaker system together. Start out with some decent bookshelf's for fronts, like some of the smaller NHT's (SuperZero, SB1, SB2, etc.) Then in about 6 months try to add the center, then add the rears, then try to round it out with an affordable sub. This way in about a year and a half you could have a decent little speaker setup. Also, check out www.audiogon.com for demo and used equipment, along with good old ebay. Whatever you do, don't buy any of those HTIB's. It seems like you got a good entry level receiver, so you should be set there.

nagesh

Grip
hi jon,