What's new

Any (former) musicians give up their instrument? (1 Viewer)

Zane Charron

Second Unit
I started playing guitar in '89 when I was 14, but the last few years I just can't get into it anymore. I realize everyone goes through motivational droughts, but I think my drought of 3-4 years is turning into something more akin to lack of interest. Every time I pick up one of my guitars with the intention of getting back into it, I play for about 10 minutes, get bored and put it away.

I never thought that I would be thinking about giving up playing guitar. I've been doing it so long it feels like a part of me, but with so many other hobbies filling up my time, it just doesn't make sense to try and keep at it. And I was/am a pretty good player! The worst part would be telling people that I USED to play guitar...sigh. :frowning:

Anyone else out there have a similar experience they want to share? Was it an OK move? Ever regret it a bit? Ever damn yourself for giving it up?

Richard Travale

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rich Travale
I gave up playing the trumpet right after college because I was just sick of it and I had been playing it for over a decade at that point. I went all the way and sold my beautiful silver plated Bach Stradivarius trumpet for a fraction of it's worth. I was OK with it for a few years but then I got the urge to start playing again and unfortunately I could not get a hold of the girl who bought my trumpet so I ended up buying an extremely cheap Yamaha student model. It was not the same and I have not been able to get into playing trumpet again.
One thing though is I was able to play music by taking up other instruments. This was great because even though I was sick of the trumpet, I was still able to play music which will always be a huge part of who I am.