Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

My Emperor's New Groove may have just died!


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
12 replies to this topic

#1 of 13 Dan Hitchman

Dan Hitchman

    Screenwriter

  • 2,714 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 11 1999

Posted August 07 2003 - 02:00 PM

I just pulled out my copy of Disney's The Emperor's New Groove 2 disc set to watch the movie again (2nd time on DVD) on my new Pioneer 563A and it refused to play any part of the second layer! It would freeze and sometimes lock up at the layer change. This same behavior would happen when I tried accessing any chapter located on the second layer, but worked fine with anything on the first layer.

First I thought it was a compatibility problem (my Toshiba SD-1200 player had played it with no problems the first time I watched it), then I popped it into my DVD-Rom drive and it played the second layer, but with numerous hiccups.

Has anyone experienced laser rot on this particular title before?

I don't know if I could get a replacement or not since it was more than a year ago when I bought it.

Drat it! This was my second favorite animated comedy Disney flick next to Aladdin!

Dan

#2 of 13 Kevin Nolan

Kevin Nolan

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 106 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 16 2000

Posted August 07 2003 - 03:07 PM

Oh Well.....
He's dead Jim, you take his tricorder I'll get his wallet.

#3 of 13 Luis A

Luis A

    Second Unit

  • 417 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 02 2001

Posted August 07 2003 - 03:14 PM

Dan, I would say it's the player that has the problem, not the disc. I don't know how many Pioneer's we had returned b/c of similar problems, but honestly it happens with every player. Anyway, if you want confirmation try taking the disc down to the place you bought it from, and playing it on their demo, or try a freinds copy of the DVD on your player.Posted Image

#4 of 13 Miles

Miles

    Second Unit

  • 284 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted August 08 2003 - 12:58 AM

Hey Dan,

I'll try this later today as I have the same title and player.

Miles

#5 of 13 Ed O

Ed O

    Agent

  • 37 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 25 2000

Posted August 08 2003 - 02:20 AM

This happened to my single disc version. The disc had a milky /cloudy look to it. It wasn't a player problem. I was able to exchange it for a replacement.

#6 of 13 Al.Anderson

Al.Anderson

    Screenwriter

  • 2,127 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002
  • Real Name:Al

Posted August 08 2003 - 03:42 AM

The only disc I've ever had go bad was The Emperor's New Grove. I found out well after I threw away the receipt, so I didn't try anything to get a replacement. It was easier to just cough up another $15.

#7 of 13 JustinCleveland

JustinCleveland

    Screenwriter

  • 2,059 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 23 2002
  • Real Name:Justin Cleveland
  • LocationMadison, WI

Posted August 08 2003 - 04:35 AM

Check it on another DVD player, get back to us.

#8 of 13 Dan Hitchman

Dan Hitchman

    Screenwriter

  • 2,714 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 11 1999

Posted August 08 2003 - 05:55 AM

Thanks for the help so far! I will check it on another player.

Miles, I would love to hear what you find out.

Dan

#9 of 13 DaViD Boulet

DaViD Boulet

    Lead Actor

  • 8,805 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 24 1999

Posted August 08 2003 - 07:04 AM

Disney has a great exchange policy. You can "register" your Disney DVDs with them on their website and then get free replacements if a disc ever goes bad.

Most new Disney DVDs have a "register this DVD" link on the menu with instructions...and you can register *all* your Disney DVDs...not just those that advertise the feature.
Be an Original Aspect Ratio Advocate

Supporter of 1080p24 video and lossless 24 bit audio.

#10 of 13 John Berggren

John Berggren

    Producer

  • 3,245 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 17 1999

Posted August 08 2003 - 08:37 AM

I just bought this player today at Best Buy. I'll have to test Groove. I hope it's the disc and not the player.

If it is the player, would Pioneer likely provide a flashbios CD?
Support the fight against Multiple Sclerosis as I ride in the 2007 MS 150 in New Bern this September.

Be a Widescreen Advocate

#11 of 13 John Berggren

John Berggren

    Producer

  • 3,245 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 17 1999

Posted August 08 2003 - 08:39 AM

Does anyone know what chapter the layer change occurs at?
Support the fight against Multiple Sclerosis as I ride in the 2007 MS 150 in New Bern this September.

Be a Widescreen Advocate

#12 of 13 Dan Hitchman

Dan Hitchman

    Screenwriter

  • 2,714 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 11 1999

Posted August 08 2003 - 10:17 AM

I don't have access to my Ultimate Groove set at the moment, but from memory the layer change occurs just after Kronk suddenly wakes up in the middle of the night and has his revelation that he knows where he first saw John Goodman's character, and just before he throws open Ertha Kitt's tent to give her the news.

I think it's somewhere in Chapter 20-something.

Dan

#13 of 13 Miles

Miles

    Second Unit

  • 284 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted August 08 2003 - 10:34 AM

Hey Dan,

I checked my copy of ENG 2-disc on my 563 and had no problems accessing all the chapters... Perhaps there's a physical flaw with the disc?

Miles