Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Bookshelves for Dorm Room

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
16 replies to this topic

#1 of 17 OFFLINE   Ben Lindell

Ben Lindell

Auditioning

• 12 posts

Posted August 05 2003 - 05:50 AM

I recently bought a Denon DRA 685 for music listening in my dorm room and I have yet to find speakers to go on the receiver. I have listened to Titans and some Boston bookshelves, both seemed lacking in different areas.

Basically, I need a recommendation for a good set of bookshelf speakers that have a pretty flat response. I am on a budget here because of college but I really dont want to sacrifice quality. Space is also an issue because of the dorm room setting. Im a newbie to this and it seems a daunting task to me to pick a speaker that is right for me in my application.

Thank you for your help
Ben

#2 of 17 OFFLINE   Paul_Fisher

Paul_Fisher

Screenwriter

• 1,222 posts

Posted August 05 2003 - 07:01 AM

Ascend Acoustic CBM 170's will fit your needs pretty well. Do a search on this forum, you will much information.

#3 of 17 OFFLINE   Chris Quinn

Chris Quinn

Screenwriter

• 1,127 posts

Posted August 05 2003 - 07:03 AM

I'll second Ascend 170s.

#4 of 17 OFFLINE   Kevinkall

Kevinkall

Second Unit

• 331 posts

Posted August 05 2003 - 07:11 AM

Paradigm Atoms, you can't go wrong!!!

#5 of 17 OFFLINE   CurtisSC

CurtisSC

Screenwriter

• 1,412 posts

Posted August 05 2003 - 07:37 AM

Kevin,

Why Atoms over Titans....especially since Ben thought the Titans were lacking?
curtis
Manhattan Beach, California

#6 of 17 OFFLINE   Troy R

Troy R

Stunt Coordinator

• 197 posts

Posted August 05 2003 - 07:50 AM

How about the Ed Frias EFE design (look for it on this page)

http://www.speakerci...ts.shtml#efekit