What's new

Video connection options (1 Viewer)

Brooks

Grip
1) I'm a total Newbie
2) thank you very much to the wise folks who volunteer their time to help us new folks
3) I've read the FAQ/Primer and either this answer isn't there or I'm too dense to find it.

Suppose you have some video sources (like an Xbox) that can send the video signal over S-Video but not component. Suppose you have others that can send component (like a DVD player). Suppose the display device is of sufficient quality / resolution that it's worth sending it component video when possible.

If I'm passing all video through the receiver for central switching, etc. am I understanding correctly that unless the receiver's documentation specifically indicates that it will "convert" from one input (S-Video) to the preferred output (component) then it will be nececssary to run cable for both S-Video and component to the display device and switch the display device to the proper input when switching source devices?

In other words, I can't connect an S-Video source to the receiver and expect video data to come out of the receiver's component outputs unless it says it will "convert" - yes?

Neil Joseph

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Neil Joseph
You are correct. If the receiver does not convert a video signal to another type of signal, whether it be composite, s-video or component, then you must connect all your sources to the receiver using the correct type of cable, then connect the various video cables coming out of the receiver to the TV. So if you have mutiple sources using all 3 types then connect all 3 types between the TV and the receiver.

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Unless your receiver 'converts', here is the rule:

- Any SVideo input to the receiver will only be seen on the SVideo output of the receiver.

- Any component input to the receiver will only be seen on the component output of the receiver.