What's new

Car Subwoofer, small box, low cost high quality... Suggestions? [*** car newbie ***] (1 Viewer)

Andrew Pierce

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Andrew Pierce
I've never built a car sub before but I'm interested in giving it a try, and I thought I'd float this in the new car section here at HTF.

I'd like to put a small sealed trunk subwoofer for my Accord and I'm looking for a decent quality driver, say, around $100 but I'd be willing to go less. I don't need 1.21 gigawatts of power handling, but I would like nice clean extension up to a reasonable volume level. I'm thinking I can do better and with a single high quality driver than 2 junk ones. I'd also like the box not to take my entire trunk, maybe a foot cubed or so. I'm thinking a 10" would be a better match for my small car than a 12, and cheaper too.

So am I out of my mind, or is all of the above possible? Do I need to look into the $125-150 range (Say the Dayton DSQ 10 or the Image Dynamics IDQ10)? How's the Dayton Quatro line? Will cabin gain really cover the huge sloping dropoff in their plots?

Thanks for any advice you can give a newb

Andrew

JessPrice

Stunt Coordinator
I am an expert in car audio, or at least I'd like to think that. For your situation, the Adire Shiva, no contest!

Frank Grimes

Second Unit
The Shiva is no small box subwoofer. If you put it in a 1ft^3 enclosure, you're going to have a sharp rolloff, high F3 and probably a significant peak around 65hz.

Cabin gain will help you out, but a lack of low frequency output will probably be noticeable. I'd consider the IDQ, though I admit I know little of the driver. Do you have a link to it's T/S's?

JessPrice

Stunt Coordinator
For a cheap sub, you can't beat the value of it. It may have a sharper roll off into the lower frequencies, but it is a entry level priced sub. I don't think the IDQ's are at the same level as the shiva, but I have much respect for image dynamics. I almost went with their IDMAX subwoofer.