-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

PS2 Component Video (Monster Cable)


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 Trevor Schell

Trevor Schell

    Supporting Actor

  • 512 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 06 1999

Posted October 01 2001 - 03:15 PM

Hi!,

Monster Cable makes a Component Video cable for the PS2. It includes the exclusive connector to the PS2 and then branches out the 3 cables required for Component.
I do not see any Audio connectors though. How would one connect the Audio if you were not going to use the optical option for a receiver but instead connect it directly to a TV.?

Thanks,

------------------
Trevor..Posted Image
My HomeTheater S.E. Sonically Enhanced
*Outdated new pictures
due to recent upgrades!
**Equipment list current





Trevor 
 HomeTheater S.E.
(Sonically Enhanced)

#2 of 9 AndyVX

AndyVX

    Supporting Actor

  • 808 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 02 2000

Posted October 01 2001 - 03:28 PM

Hey, you know I never thought about that, you raise a good point.

I am going to get the monster component cables, and thankfully I have an extra optical input on my receiver.

But for people that don't have an extra optical input, or for people that don't have a DD/DTS receiver they are pretty much shit outta luck.


Andrew
Andrew

#3 of 9 Peter_A

Peter_A

    Second Unit

  • 333 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 11 1999

Posted October 01 2001 - 04:23 PM

The only thing to do is get a non-Monster brand component cable. I used one that had audio RCA connectors on it before my Monster version arrived.

------------------
Peter




#4 of 9 Trevor Schell

Trevor Schell

    Supporting Actor

  • 512 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 06 1999

Posted October 02 2001 - 03:01 PM

The Monster Component does not have Audio RCA's so it can not be used without a system connected to a receiver and digital cables.

The Monster S-Video cables do come with the two Audio RCA's included in the bundle as well as the composite set.

The reason I asked the question in the first place was since I just bought a Toshiba 24" Flatscreen FST Pure TV for the sole purpose as a monitor for the PS2..The new Toshiba has Component inputs which I wanted to use for video quality.

Posted Image

------------------
Trevor..Posted Image
My HomeTheater S.E. Sonically Enhanced
*Outdated new pictures
due to recent upgrades!
**Equipment list current





Trevor 
 HomeTheater S.E.
(Sonically Enhanced)

#5 of 9 Dave F

Dave F

    Screenwriter

  • 2,891 posts
  • Join Date: May 15 1999

Posted October 02 2001 - 05:12 PM

You'll have to go with the Sony component cables...

-Dave

------------------
DVD List



DVD List

#6 of 9 Rob Varto

Rob Varto

    Supporting Actor

  • 714 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 05 2000

Posted October 03 2001 - 04:37 AM

Andy, what optical slot do you use from your receiver? I have mine going to the "CD" option since I do not have a CD player hooked up to my receiver. Are there other options?
1. Steal Underpants
2. ???
3. Profit

#7 of 9 Christopher Chung

Christopher Chung

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 203 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 28 2001

Posted October 03 2001 - 07:23 AM

Speaking of the PS2 cables... I saw a post a while back about the Acoustic Research/Interact S-Video and Component cables which were much cheaper than Monster and looked just as nice.

Now I searched everywhere for these bad boys, but I could not find the S-Video cable package!!! Has anybody out there recently seen them being sol on-line somewhere? I've tried Accessories4less, but had no luck...I'm stumped.

Thanks, for any info,
Chris

#8 of 9 Dave F

Dave F

    Screenwriter

  • 2,891 posts
  • Join Date: May 15 1999

Posted October 03 2001 - 10:42 AM

Christopher,

Try AVConnect .

-Dave

------------------
DVD List



DVD List

#9 of 9 AndyVX

AndyVX

    Supporting Actor

  • 808 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 02 2000

Posted October 03 2001 - 12:39 PM

Quote:
Andy, what optical slot do you use from your receiver? I have mine going to the "CD" option since I do not have a CD player hooked up to my receiver. Are there other options?

I'm a little confused by this question. If you have your PS2 connected to your receivers optical input already, I don't really understand what exactly you are asking.

Maybe you could clarify a little?


Andrew

------------------
ICQ# - 119869807

Andrew