Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

What do I need to get DTS?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   Ben_Ly

Ben_Ly

Agent

• 48 posts

Posted July 25 2003 - 05:13 PM

I'm pretty new to this entire Home Theater business and I when I set up DTS on DVD's I don't get any sound. I guess my question is, does DTS only work if you have an optical cable hooked up. I have my DVD player (Sony DVP-NS715P) hooked up with regular RCA-Type plugs. Also, my TV is old as hell and can only be hooked up with the same thing. I know my receiver is new enough (Denon 3300) to handle DTS so I'm confused why I am not getting any sound through it. Any suggestions would help especially if there dumbed down a bit so a newbie can understand them.

#2 of 8 OFFLINE   Brian Fellmeth

Brian Fellmeth

Supporting Actor

• 792 posts

Posted July 25 2003 - 06:27 PM

Quote:
I have my DVD player (Sony DVP-NS715P) hooked up with regular RCA-Type plugs.

This could mean one of three things.

1) A right and left stereo pair
2) A full set of 6 RCA's for transfer of 5.1 analog
3) A single RCA acting as a digital coax.

If your situation is number 1, then you cannot get DTS or any discrete surround format. Assuming this is the case, you should convert the hookup to #3 above, and here is how. Remove that stereo RCA pair. Plug one end into the digital out jack in the back of the DVD player, and the other end into one of the Denon's digital inputs. If these RCA's are a pair stuck together, just ignore one. You only need a single connection. Then, enter your DVD players setup and enable bitsream and DTS. Some DVD players default to DTS disabled.

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   Vincent_S

Vincent_S

Second Unit

• 450 posts

Posted July 25 2003 - 06:27 PM