Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

What method do use to connect your X1?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 OFFLINE   Bobby_K

Bobby_K

    Extra



  • 16 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 02 2003

Posted June 10 2003 - 05:32 AM

Right now, Im running direct S-video from a non-prog. DVD player. I learned that the X1 takes 480i in the S-Video input, and 480p through the Vesa breakout. Someone reported in a previous thread, getting better results through the Interlace S-video component breakout cable, available through Infocus, than through the Vesa 480p. Problem is, I'm finding that no one but Infocus carries that S-vid breakout cable, which is on back order until the end of June. Anyone else wanting to go this route find this cable through any other vendor? Or come up with a better solution?
'I adore simple pleasures, they are the last refuge of the complex' -Oscar Wilde

#2 of 9 OFFLINE   Jed M

Jed M

    Screenwriter



  • 2,030 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 02 2001

Posted June 10 2003 - 07:40 AM

I seriously doubt you are missing that much by using the s-video instead of the component to s-video converter. If you want a better solution, I would focus on getting a progressive scan player and a breakout cable. The results are much more smooth and film like. You can find progressive players for 80 dollars now. So if I were you I would go and buy one of these breakout cables instead of the adapter from infocus. This will just motivate you more to save up for a progressive scan.
Long you live and high you fly
And smiles you'll give and tears you'll cry
And all you touch and all you see
Is all your life will ever be.
-R. Waters

#3 of 9 OFFLINE   Mike.ca

Mike.ca

    Auditioning



  • 8 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 10 2003

Posted June 10 2003 - 08:15 AM

I agree that you probably aren't missing out on a lot by using straight S-Video instead of 480i component (assuming your S-Video cable is decent quality). But if you ever decide to upgrade to a progressive DVD player make sure it has a de-interlacer that is as good as the DCDi built into the X1, or you may actually see a degradation in image quality by going from S-Video to 480p.

#4 of 9 OFFLINE   RANDY FISHER

RANDY FISHER

    Second Unit



  • 289 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 01 1998

Posted June 10 2003 - 08:23 AM

I am using an RP-82 via the VGA input with a breakout cable. It looks awesome but I have to admit the scaling/deinterlacing chip in the X1 is almost equal (same chip) in quality. I figure the player doing the de-interlacing is a few less A/D D/A conversions. Randy
Randy J. Fisher, CTS-D

#5 of 9 OFFLINE   Jordan_E

Jordan_E

    Screenwriter



  • 2,233 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 03 2002

Posted June 10 2003 - 10:57 AM

I am using s-video MonsterCable, but have a breakout cable on the way, mostly to be used with my HD receiver, although I hope my progressive DVD player (Pioneer Elite) will look better with the new cable.
And you believe, at heart, everyone's a killer...

#6 of 9 OFFLINE   Mathew Shelby

Mathew Shelby

    Second Unit



  • 344 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 05 2002

Posted June 10 2003 - 01:42 PM

I have the VESA adaptor from Infocus hooked up to a set of 3m Silverserpents (from Bettercables) going to a Toshiba SD-3750 Progressive Scan dvd player. The picture is outstanding. The VESA adaptor can be flaky at times. I also use the S-video out on the projector running into my digital cable box for digital cable. In order to get HDTV from the digital cable box, I just change the components from the DVD player to the cable box. The picture quality is very good. I would also agree with some previous posters that the interlacing chip on the projector itself is "almost" as good as my DVD player. My only regret about buying this projector is that I bought it before the price dropped $400. Posted Image

#7 of 9 OFFLINE   ScottJH

ScottJH

    Second Unit



  • 489 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 27 2001
  • Real Name:Scott

Posted June 10 2003 - 04:53 PM

Does the composite in use the DCDi or just the s-video in??

#8 of 9 OFFLINE   Mike.ca

Mike.ca

    Auditioning



  • 8 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 10 2003

Posted June 10 2003 - 05:21 PM

The Faroujda DCDi is active on the composite, s-video, and the s-video/component adapter input.

#9 of 9 OFFLINE   Mathew Shelby

Mathew Shelby

    Second Unit



  • 344 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 05 2002

Posted June 10 2003 - 11:29 PM

Mike, That is one great site! I was looking for a resource like that.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users