Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Just about ready to get into my TV's service menu...


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
13 replies to this topic

#1 of 14 Jim Peavy

Jim Peavy

    Supporting Actor

  • 717 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 12 2002

Posted June 06 2003 - 10:38 AM

I have a 32" Toshiba 32A42 set and the overscan is pretty bad. I want to calibrate the overscan using Avia.

I also want to find out if my set can do the "squeeze trick," which I've heard many sets can do via the service menu.

How hard is this? I've heard I'll need to write all the settings down or else I could seriously screw up the picture. I've also heard I should be able to find the code to enter the s.m. online.

Should I attempt to do this? Would anyone like to help (or discourage me from trying Posted Image)?

Much thanks.
"I just pre-ordered I DRINK YOUR BLOOD, even though I have no job."

#2 of 14 Inspector Hammer!

Inspector Hammer!

    Executive Producer

  • 11,067 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 15 1999
  • Real Name:John Williamson
  • LocationWilmington, Delaware

Posted June 06 2003 - 07:35 PM

Jim,

it's good that you already know to write everything down before making any changes, so I won't lecture you on that.

Still though Proceed with Caution! I was scared shitless the first time I tried it, I thought for sure I would ruin my tv! Posted Image

However, once you've gotten the codes and have studied the procedure or have them handy when you try it, it's not really that hard to navigate and manipulate the SM, especially after that first time, it gets easier and almost routine to go in and do a little tweaking from time to time.

Just as long as you know what settings your looking for and how they're labled. Also using AVIA will make things MUCH easier if you want to correct geometry errors etc.

I've always said that a new tv is nothing more than a hunk of raw clay that must be molded into a great HT monitor, the service menu is an invaluable tool...if you know what your doing. My last tv before getting my 16x9 was a 27" Sony WEGA that had it's problem's when I first got it. It had a bad red push and pretty bad overscan. But by the time I sold it three years later, I had that bad boy SINGING because of the SM work I did on it.

Just a little inspirational story to help you along. Posted Image

Good luck, and be careful. Posted Image
"That's Jack Bauer!!!!!! He's coming for me!!!!!" - Charles Logan

#3 of 14 Cees Alons

Cees Alons

    Executive Producer

  • 18,547 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 31 1997
  • Real Name:Cees Alons

Posted June 06 2003 - 07:57 PM

Be carefull - and by all means try it!

Here are some useful links, in case you may not know these:

Anamorphic Squeeze on TV sets
How to Adjust a TV,

both by Anthony Haukap.

Good luck!

Cees

#4 of 14 Barry BB

Barry BB

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 169 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 28 2001

Posted June 07 2003 - 04:55 AM

I have the previous model Toshiba 32A41. If it is the same for the 32A42 then you get into the service menu by putting TV on mute with the remote, then press mute on the remote and menu button on the TV at the same time and an "S" will appear on the TV. From there you press channel up/down on remote to go to the different settings, and volume up/down to change the settings. Once your settings are done you need to turn the TV off and on again.

I found instructions on the net to do the "squeeze" on my TV. The only thing that I can't figure out is that I have a bit of white space on the bottom black bar and I don't know how to get rid of it. It is a liitle distracting, I put up with it to get the more detailed picture but when company is watching I don't do the squeeze because they complain that it is too distracting. I printed out the directions but it was a long time ago and I can't find the site that I used right now.

WARNING - DO NOT DO ANYTHING UNTIL YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING. Although the warnings sound scary it is necessary because if you do not go slowly and record your original settings then you have permanently f*cked up your TV. But if you are careful it really is not that scary after you have done it a couple of times.

#5 of 14 Jim Peavy

Jim Peavy

    Supporting Actor

  • 717 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 12 2002

Posted June 07 2003 - 06:35 AM

Just a little inspirational story to help you along.

Thanks, John--that is inspiring!

I've always said that a new tv is nothing more than a hunk of raw clay that must be molded into a great HT monitor...

Yeah, mine definitely needs some tweaking.

Thanks for the links, Cees. They look good!

I'll try the procedure you use Barry on your 32A41. I would imagine it would be the same (?).

...if you do not go slowly and record your original settings then you have permanently f*cked up your TV.

Though if I actually brought a technician in he would know the correct settings, right? It would be "permanent" only until I could find out the orig. settings, right? Or am I missing something.

Thanks again, all!
"I just pre-ordered I DRINK YOUR BLOOD, even though I have no job."

#6 of 14 Barry BB

Barry BB

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 169 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 28 2001

Posted June 08 2003 - 05:31 PM

Jim

A technician will not, repeat will not know what your original settings were. I've heard of two TV's of the same model having different settings. Do not depend on a technician to be able to restore your TV's original settings.

I can try to locate the site that I used and post it for you but I don't know when I'll be able to post the info for you. It was at least a year ago when I printed a hard copy for myself so it will take some time for me to try and find it.

#7 of 14 Jim Peavy

Jim Peavy

    Supporting Actor

  • 717 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 12 2002

Posted June 09 2003 - 03:14 AM

Thanks, Barry. I'll heed your warnings!

I pretty much just want to adjust my set's overscan and maybe find out about the "squeeze trick" at this point. According to Avia, my colors, etc. are pretty good.

Any help or links you can give me would be appreciated! I'm thinking of ordering a service manual for my set. Would this be helpful?
"I just pre-ordered I DRINK YOUR BLOOD, even though I have no job."

#8 of 14 Ted Lee

Ted Lee

    Lead Actor

  • 8,398 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2001

Posted June 09 2003 - 04:22 AM

be sure to visit hometheaterspot.com too - lots of info on tweaking tv's there.
 

#9 of 14 Cees Alons

Cees Alons

    Executive Producer

  • 18,547 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 31 1997
  • Real Name:Cees Alons

Posted June 09 2003 - 08:43 PM

Quote:
It would be "permanent" only until I could find out the orig. settings, right? Or am I missing something.
Yes, unfortunately you are. On some TV's there are a few menue settings that will destroy your TV if set totally wrong.

Cees

#10 of 14 Jim Peavy

Jim Peavy

    Supporting Actor

  • 717 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 12 2002

Posted June 10 2003 - 07:33 AM

On some TV's there are a few menue settings that will destroy your TV if set totally wrong.
Oooookey, dokey... Maybe I'll just learn to live with it! Posted Image

"Hmmmm, I wonder what this menu's for: 'self destruct'?"

Seriously, once I get into the menu, will it tell me how to navigate and what each screen is for? This is why I'm thinking I need a service manual.

Also, as someone stated above, to exit the service menu do I merely turn the TV off?
"I just pre-ordered I DRINK YOUR BLOOD, even though I have no job."

#11 of 14 Jim Peavy

Jim Peavy

    Supporting Actor

  • 717 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 12 2002

Posted June 10 2003 - 12:28 PM

I found instructions on the net to do the "squeeze" on my TV. The only thing that I can't figure out is that I have a bit of white space on the bottom black bar and I don't know how to get rid of it.

Barry, the first link Cees provided me had this to say:

"Once VUSN is set to 1 you will probably notice a thin white line across the display at the edge of the video area. To eliminate this distracting line you will need to use the SCRL and or the VPOS service mode items to move the picture up just until the white line is no longer viewable."

Sounds like this might be the problem you're having.
"I just pre-ordered I DRINK YOUR BLOOD, even though I have no job."

#12 of 14 Barry BB

Barry BB

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 169 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 28 2001

Posted June 12 2003 - 06:13 PM

Jim

Sorry but I have not yet had the spare time to find the web site that I used. I've got a lot of things on my plate and I've been unable to get to it yet.

About the white space problem, thanks for the post. I'll check it out when I get a chance.

#13 of 14 Cees Alons

Cees Alons

    Executive Producer

  • 18,547 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 31 1997
  • Real Name:Cees Alons

Posted June 12 2003 - 08:02 PM

Jim,

Quote:
Also, as someone stated above, to exit the service menu do I merely turn the TV off?
On some menues there's an explicit "Exit", on some you have to set the TV off.

Don't worry too much about those "dangerous" settings, just read very carefully and watch what you're doing. If you see a setting you don't understand, leave it as it is by all means.

Many have done it before you! Good luck!

Cees

#14 of 14 Cees Alons

Cees Alons

    Executive Producer

  • 18,547 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 31 1997
  • Real Name:Cees Alons

Posted June 12 2003 - 08:02 PM

Jim,

Quote:
Also, as someone stated above, to exit the service menu do I merely turn the TV off?
On some menues there's an explicit "Exit", on some you have to turn the TV off.

Don't worry too much about those "dangerous" settings, just read very carefully and watch what you're doing. If you see a setting you don't understand, leave it as it is by all means.

Many have done it before you! Good luck!

Cees





Forum Nav Content I Follow