What's new

Help with accessories for HT setup (1 Viewer)

Hiral

Auditioning
Hey guys, I'm new to this stuff. I have never setup a speakers with a receiver or subwoofer. I read through many of the receiver and speaker threads to decide what to get(very much appreciated the help), but now I need to know what else I need to get and from where. Here is what I will have next week:

Onkyo TX-SR501
JBL PB10
Fluance AV-HTB

That's what I came up with after looking for the right price and performance. I looked at some entry level refurb HK receivers, some entry level Yamaha receivers which some people complained had power issues. So I finally decided on the new entry level model from Onkyo. I debated between the AR subwoofer which was less then $200, the JBL I got and the Velodyne VX-10 and finally decided on the JBL since it was priced between the AR and Velodyne. As for the speakers, many people on this forum thought it was a good set for entry level HT. It was either the setup above or get the Onkyo HTIB set up for $500. It was a hard choice since it came with the same receiver and was $200 cheaper but I thought I'd give it a try and hope for the best.

Now what all do I need to hook these things up?

Speaker wires, Banana Plugs(um, what are these for?), and what else ?

Like I said I have never done this before. I was planning on getting that 12AWG wire from Home Depot unless someone knows of a cheaper place to get 12G wire. Banana Plugs, I have no clue about. How do I use them? Do I need to solder anything? I will also need some speaker stands for the rear speakers. Any ideas on where I can find some black stands that are decent but cheap?

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks

TylerZ

Stunt Coordinator