Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Do I need to hook up DVD digital AND analog audio?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 of 17 OFFLINE   John Walker

John Walker

    Agent



  • 32 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 23 2003

Posted June 02 2003 - 05:57 PM

The subject says it all. Do I need to hook up the analog also in order to play plain CD's or will they work as "2.0" via the digital coax? Thanks John

#2 of 17 OFFLINE   Inspector Hammer!

Inspector Hammer!

    Executive Producer



  • 11,067 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 15 1999
  • Real Name:John Williamson
  • LocationWilmington, Delaware

Posted June 02 2003 - 08:00 PM

John, the digital connection will deliver everything from both dvd's and cd's, no need to connect analog.
"That's Jack Bauer!!!!!! He's coming for me!!!!!" - Charles Logan

#3 of 17 OFFLINE   Rick_Brown

Rick_Brown

    Second Unit



  • 449 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2001

Posted June 03 2003 - 12:10 AM

However...if you do connect up the analog cables you then have an opportunity to compare the sound of your DVD-players DAC's vs. your receiver's DAC's. Some people find that one or the other sounds better.

#4 of 17 OFFLINE   MarcWi

MarcWi

    Agent



  • 44 posts
  • Join Date: May 07 2003

Posted June 03 2003 - 12:47 AM

I have a related question. I just hooked up mynew system adn I have 2 dvd players. One is hooked up digital coax and the other via digital optical. The coax connection is playing cds fine but not the optical. Can anyone think of why?

#5 of 17 OFFLINE   Woo Jae

Woo Jae

    Screenwriter



  • 1,143 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 13 2000

Posted June 03 2003 - 01:35 AM

Maybe your receiver only allows one type of input per optical/digital cable?

I know it sounds silly, but I have an older Yahama integrated receiver RV420 (silly impulse purchase Posted Image !) that will not let you set up more than one type of input to a connection. So say you have two dvd players. You would need to designate one as DVD with Coaxial and another as either CD or D-Cable or some other thing to get it to work...

Hope it helps...

Also note that on that Yamaha receiver I can only have the player accept PCM signals only, so anything that isn't encoded as such will not go through. Go through the options on the DVD players and make sure that your receiver can handle the signal from the input...
"Me? Master Ramen Chef? Nahhhh....."
I am Korean/Therefore I rule~

Anime: 628 DVDs Total: 1168 DVDs
Boxed sets,if collected as such, count only ONCEhttp://www.intervoca...on.aspx/WoosterManga: total count 401 volumes Series Completed: 21 Collecting: 32

#6 of 17 OFFLINE   MarcWi

MarcWi

    Agent



  • 44 posts
  • Join Date: May 07 2003

Posted June 03 2003 - 02:29 AM

WEll--the dvd audio works fine so I dont think tats the issue-its just cd audio that was problematic....

#7 of 17 OFFLINE   Cees Alons

Cees Alons

    Executive Producer



  • 18,861 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 31 1997
  • Real Name:Cees Alons

Posted June 03 2003 - 06:07 AM

Marc, Did you look at the settings of that player? Often the optical connection has to be switched on specifically. If you have the manual, consult it to find that out (or else, just go to the setup and see what's there). Cees

#8 of 17 OFFLINE   MarcWi

MarcWi

    Agent



  • 44 posts
  • Join Date: May 07 2003

Posted June 03 2003 - 06:55 AM

well I don't think that would be the case as if I play a DVD Im getting the sound through the optical connection....

#9 of 17 OFFLINE   JamesHl

JamesHl

    Supporting Actor



  • 813 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2003

Posted June 03 2003 - 11:41 AM

If you have upsampling enabled, is that pass through or does that only work over the analog? if it's pass through, your receiver might not be able to decode it. I don't know if this is how it works though.

#10 of 17 OFFLINE   MarcWi

MarcWi

    Agent



  • 44 posts
  • Join Date: May 07 2003

Posted June 04 2003 - 12:49 AM

Sorry you lost me---upsampling?

#11 of 17 OFFLINE   Rick_Brown

Rick_Brown

    Second Unit



  • 449 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2001

Posted June 04 2003 - 01:01 AM

Is this what we call "highjacking a thread?"

#12 of 17 OFFLINE   JamesHl

JamesHl

    Supporting Actor



  • 813 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2003

Posted June 04 2003 - 03:25 AM

Upsampling PCM to 24/96? I feel kind of stupid for mentioning this as I don't know a lot about it; however, it might have something to do with your problem. You might want to dig around in your dvd player settings to make sure it's not on, or something.

#13 of 17 OFFLINE   John Walker

John Walker

    Agent



  • 32 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 23 2003

Posted June 04 2003 - 02:51 PM

Can anyone tell me where I can get a tie-rod end for a 32 ford?

#14 of 17 OFFLINE   MarcWi

MarcWi

    Agent



  • 44 posts
  • Join Date: May 07 2003

Posted June 06 2003 - 12:40 AM

Point taken---I apologize!!!!

#15 of 17 OFFLINE   Dave Hahn

Dave Hahn

    Second Unit



  • 354 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 22 1999
  • Real Name:Dave Hahn

Posted June 07 2003 - 11:21 AM

I don't know if it matters anymore, or it may just be specific to brand or model. I have an older Denon receiver and must use the analog connection if I want to use some of the DSP modes such as "Mono Movie."

Hope that helps. Oh, by the way, try Hemmings for the tie-rod! Posted Image
__________________________________________

Jean Louise, Jean Louise stand up; Your father's passing.
__________________________________________
My DVD Collection

 


#16 of 17 OFFLINE   John Walker

John Walker

    Agent



  • 32 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 23 2003

Posted June 09 2003 - 11:58 AM

That's exactly what I was referring to. I haven't got all the cables yet so it isn't set up. Am I going to find I need the analog connection for CD or MP3? Thanks John

#17 of 17 OFFLINE   Dave Hahn

Dave Hahn

    Second Unit



  • 354 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 22 1999
  • Real Name:Dave Hahn

Posted June 09 2003 - 02:56 PM

To answer your original question.
[quote] Do I need to hook up the analog also in order to play plain CD's or will they work as "2.0" via the digital coax? [quote] An educated guess, not knowing what kind of equipment you have, is no. You do not need to hook up the analog also in order to play plain CD's.
__________________________________________

Jean Louise, Jean Louise stand up; Your father's passing.
__________________________________________
My DVD Collection

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users