Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Help! How can I shut off the amps in my Sony 5ES?!!!


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
12 replies to this topic

#1 of 13 OFFLINE   james e m

james e m

    Second Unit



  • 499 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 03 2001

Posted June 02 2003 - 12:48 PM

I just received my Sherbourn 7/2100, which rocks Posted Image and I wanted to turn my Sony DA5ES into a pre/pro but I don't know how to shut off the Sony's amps. The Sony's amps are still running even when the Sherbourn is powering the speakers. Is there anyway to shut it them off?
Thanks!
James
When in doubt...Rock it out.

Updated Pictures & Equipment List

This is my very, very, very outdated website.Mirkwood Home Theater

#2 of 13 OFFLINE   John Garcia

John Garcia

    Executive Producer



  • 11,550 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 24 1999
  • Real Name:John
  • LocationNorCal

Posted June 02 2003 - 01:08 PM

You don't need to shut them off, they aren't doing anything.
HT: Emotiva UMC-200, Emotiva XPA-3, Carnegie Acoustics CSB-1s + CSC-1, GR Research A/V-1s, Epik Empire, Oppo BDP-105, PS4, PS3,URC R-50, APC-H10, Panamax 5100 Bluejeans Cable
System Two: Marantz PM7200, Pioneer FS52s, Panasonic BD79
(stolen) : Marantz SR-8300, GR Research A/V-2s, Sony SCD-222ES SACD, Panasonic BD-65, PS3 60G (250G)

Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” – Albert Einstein

 


#3 of 13 OFFLINE   Yogi

Yogi

    Screenwriter



  • 1,741 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 25 2002

Posted June 03 2003 - 07:38 AM

Quote:
The Sony's amps are still running even when the Sherbourn is powering the speakers.


How do you know the Sony's amps are still running?
The truth is not out there but within you.

#4 of 13 OFFLINE   james e m

james e m

    Second Unit



  • 499 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 03 2001

Posted June 03 2003 - 08:17 AM

I thought they were running because when I hook up speakers to the back of the 5ES it still powers them. Does the receiver only turn on when it senses a speaker wire or banana plug is hooked into it?

How are you sure it's not running?
James
When in doubt...Rock it out.

Updated Pictures & Equipment List

This is my very, very, very outdated website.Mirkwood Home Theater

#5 of 13 OFFLINE   John Royster

John Royster

    Screenwriter



  • 1,089 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 14 2001

Posted June 03 2003 - 09:07 AM

Quote:
How are you sure it's not running


James,

If there is no work for the amp to do it will draw very little power. There really isn't any need to turn off amps on your receiver.

#6 of 13 OFFLINE   Yogi

Yogi

    Screenwriter



  • 1,741 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 25 2002

Posted June 03 2003 - 09:08 AM

The output stages on the receiver will only draw power i.e., 'work' when they have a load (speaker) connected to them. If they are left 'open' they are essentially turned off and dont draw any power. So if you have your speaker leads going into the Sherbourn then the Sony's amp are doing nothing and drawing no power or in other words they are turned off. The moment you take the speaker leads and plug them into the Sony the amps in the Sony start working and powering the speakers. So dont worry about Sony's amps when the speakers are connected to the Sherbourn.

Enjoy your toys.

Regards,
The truth is not out there but within you.

#7 of 13 OFFLINE   james e m

james e m

    Second Unit



  • 499 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 03 2001

Posted June 03 2003 - 12:21 PM

Thanks for the advice guys! I was just concerned because the receiver was still getting warm, so I was confused.
James
When in doubt...Rock it out.

Updated Pictures & Equipment List

This is my very, very, very outdated website.Mirkwood Home Theater

#8 of 13 OFFLINE   Michael R Price

Michael R Price

    Screenwriter



  • 1,591 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 22 2001

Posted June 03 2003 - 02:18 PM

It still draws a little power because the amps are working normally even without a speaker... but that's nothing to worry about. It doesn't hurt the performance of the Sony as a preamp.

#9 of 13 OFFLINE   DanaA

DanaA

    Screenwriter



  • 1,844 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 21 2001

Posted June 03 2003 - 02:46 PM

James,

Absolutely nothing to worry about. And don't feel at all naive for asking the question. When I got my first power amp last summer, I called Onkyo and needed quite a bit of reassuring and convincing to believe that all I needed to do was hook the amp up to the preouts and that was all there was to it. I kept on asking whether there was any setting I needed to set in order for this to work...and I asked the same questions over and over.

Until we've done something, we're pretty ignorant. After we've done it once, we think of ourselves as seasoned vets.Posted Image

You should have seen me when I got my first set of locking cap interconnects late last year. I didn't notice instructions came with them, emailed Lex of Quantum (Catcable) in total frustration, "Hey these things keep falling off!" He patiently went through the process with me and apologized for having forgotten to include the instruction sheet. When I looked in the box, there they were. I, with red face, emailed him back to acknowledge how stupid I felt. He forgave me. Posted Image

#10 of 13 OFFLINE   Mark Leitch

Mark Leitch

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 125 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2002

Posted June 03 2003 - 03:31 PM

Don't some companies recommend you put an 8 ohm resistor across the terminals if the amps are not driving a load?

M.

#11 of 13 OFFLINE   Chu Gai

Chu Gai

    Lead Actor



  • 7,270 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 29 2001

Posted June 04 2003 - 01:28 AM

I hope not.

#12 of 13 OFFLINE   Yogi

Yogi

    Screenwriter



  • 1,741 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 25 2002

Posted June 04 2003 - 01:45 AM

No Mark, I dont think anyone would recommend that atleast with solid state amps. Also remember the preamp is still drawing some power so its normal for the receiver to get warm. Nothing to worry about.

Regards,
The truth is not out there but within you.

#13 of 13 OFFLINE   Brett DiMichele

Brett DiMichele

    Producer



  • 3,184 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 2001

Posted June 04 2003 - 02:36 AM

Even when a solid state amp see's no load it still has a
transformer supplying power to charge the voltage rails
and also to power the rest of the unit.. So yes it will
still get warm. When my Onkyo 787 is used as a Pre it gets
substantialy less warm though.

Even at idle there is still a dissipation factor for any'
S.S amp (any amp for that matter)
Brett DiMichele
brettd@nospamyukonwaltz.com (remove nospam)

Too Much to list!
My PhotoBucket              My Buttkicker Wireless Advance Kit Review





Forum Nav Content I Follow