Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Power: wattage, circuit, & surge requirements


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   Dennis LM

Dennis LM

    Extra



  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 09 2003

Posted May 29 2003 - 07:58 AM

I just did a wattage review for all the items that can be hooked up into my current system. The total came to 660 Watts. I also want to allow 200 to 250 Watts for eventual the addition of a powered subwoofer. I would like to know how my power configuration for the 4ES HT system should best be set up. I don't want to blow circuits or overload anything. 1) What kind of point-of-use surge protector should I consider using? (I'm not ready for whole house protection now) 2) What circuit considerations should I be aware of? 3) How do I figure the amperage draw on a given outlet? Thanks in advance for your help. HT System: Sony DVP-NC600, STR-DA4ES, KV-27V42 TV, TC-WR6655S dual tape, SLV-676UC VCR, DCR-TRV120 Digital 8, & 2 Technics SB-L30 speakers
Dennis LM.

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   Chu Gai

Chu Gai

    Lead Actor



  • 7,270 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 29 2001

Posted May 29 2003 - 05:00 PM

1) You'll need a device that everything can plug into and that includes the cable or satellite. A very cost effective and compentent device would be this model from Stratitec. You're interested in the one on the right but it comes bundled with the other little one. It's under $20 at Sam's Club so if there's one in your area and you or someone you know has a membership, go pick one up. If that doesn't work for you drop them an email or a call and maybe they can tell you who else carries the unit in your area. Online, you can buy it from Directron but its a little more money.

2) None that I can think of. Make sure your outlet is wired correctly ($4 circuit tester at Home Depot...test all your outlets).

3) Volts times amperes equals watts.

Therefore: Ampere equals watt divided by volts.

In your case, 600/120 = 5 amps. So just pick a 15 amp circuit.

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   Dennis LM

Dennis LM

    Extra



  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 09 2003

Posted May 30 2003 - 01:47 AM

Thanks, Chu. Posted Image
Dennis LM.

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   Joe

Joe

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 139 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 27 2002

Posted May 30 2003 - 12:12 PM

Would that Stratitec surge protector limit the current a 200watt per channel amp would need?

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   Chu Gai

Chu Gai

    Lead Actor



  • 7,270 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 29 2001

Posted May 30 2003 - 01:02 PM

dunno...MOV's are invariably paralleled across the circuit so that wouldn't limit anything. The EMI/RFI components may be placed in series. You'd have to call them and make of this what you will.

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown

    Producer



  • 5,713 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 03 2000

Posted May 30 2003 - 04:56 PM

I vote for www.brickwall.com as the best surge protector I know of. Posted Image
If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ...

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   Chu Gai

Chu Gai

    Lead Actor



  • 7,270 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 29 2001

Posted May 30 2003 - 09:32 PM

which is a series mode protector. it's critical with the brickwall devices that the outlet be wired correctly. myself I don't put much stock in this 'my amp is starving, it must eat' thing but whatcha gonna do?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users