-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Samsung 55w3hf - Conversion to 480p? HELP!


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 Vincent Dodd

Vincent Dodd

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: May 13 2003

Posted May 24 2003 - 07:56 PM

I recently purchased my first rptv A samsung 55w3hf.I think i was a little misled by the description on the net.I went to hook up my dvd player and the 480p setting split the picture in two.When i switched to interlaced it worked fine.What i'm curious about is what does "The high-resolution display through conversion to 480 Progressive Scan " mean?I'm happy with the tv it has a pretty good picture but by reading that i thought it was a hdtv.Was i wrong?Any help would be cool.Thanks. Here's a link to my tv. http://www.samsungel....sp_55w3hf.html

#2 of 6 Allan Jayne

Allan Jayne

    Screenwriter

  • 2,406 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 01 1998

Posted May 24 2003 - 11:53 PM

Either the TV cannot accept 480p, or requires a manual selection to accept 480p.

Accepting progressive scan and doing progressive scan are not the same. Your TV probably takes only regular interlaced component video and then converts it to progressive scan internally for viewing.

Is there a second set of component video input jacks? Some TV sets have two sets, one for interlaced and one for progressive.

You can use the VGA input for progressive scan provided (a) the DVD player has a switch for RGB/component, or (b) the TV has a switch for RGB/component via VGA in, or © you buy a 480p component to RGB transcoder which is a box, not just a cable. (There is about a 5% chance additional tweaking is needed, for the horizontal retrace interval.)

If the TV was not advertised as accepting progressive scan component video or the instructions did not mention progressive scan input, then you must set the DVD player to interlaced and cannot take advantage of progressive scan direct from the player.

Video hints:
http://members.aol.c...ynejr/video.htm
.

#3 of 6 Vincent Dodd

Vincent Dodd

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: May 13 2003

Posted May 25 2003 - 12:37 AM

The tv only has one component input.and there is no switch or menu setting for it.I've scoured the entire manual.About this 480p component to rgb transcoder,are they very expensive?where could i find one.Will i notice a big difference in pic quality if i do get one?Thanks for your help

#4 of 6 Michael Reuben

Michael Reuben

    Studio Mogul

  • 21,769 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 1998

Posted May 25 2003 - 02:22 AM

I'm moving this to Display Devices and editing the title to include the TV model.

M.
COMPLETE list of my disc reviews.       HTF Rules / 200920102011 Film Lists

#5 of 6 Bill Will

Bill Will

    Screenwriter

  • 1,288 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 26 2001

Posted May 25 2003 - 02:46 AM

Just a thought, if the set has 2-tuner P-I-P check to see if the P-I-P mode is turned "OFF" maybe the set can't display P-I-P using the Component Video Inputs with a progressive scan signal?

#6 of 6 Vincent Dodd

Vincent Dodd

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: May 13 2003

Posted May 25 2003 - 04:51 AM

it does have 2 tuner pip but whether it's off or on,it still wont display progressive signals correctly.I guess i'm pretty much at a stopping point.I'm pleased with the picture,but if i could get more out of it for my money that would be cool too thanks


http://www.dvdprofil....p?alias=Vrdodd