What's new

Gilmore Girls 5/20/03 Season Finale (1 Viewer)

Patrick Sun

Senior HTF Member
Isn't Luke's dream just a bookend to the one that Lorelai had at the start of the season? Anyhow, it's simply a tease for us long-time viewers to think that Luke and Lorelai just might get together, now that Rory is now college bound. Anyhow, the Friday family dinners are now back on. Too bad Rory didn't get to go to prom. Jess is such a putz. They did leave Paris' college choice open, but from the framing of it, perhaps she either isn't headed for Yale now, but might change her mind during the summer and surprise Rory. Dean and Rory's goodbye (since Jared Padalecki isn't coming back) was actually pretty heartfelt considering their history.

Joel C

Screenwriter
This show never fails to leave me feeling warm and fuzzy. This was a great episode. It helped that I graduated college this year, so I could identify easily with the sentiment.

Oh, and I wish I had rich grandparents who could buy me a car AND pay for college. Yeesh. Oh, and guarantee me a job.

Brad Porter

Screenwriter
Not crying. Not crying. OK. I got a little lump in the throat - but that's all, I swear.

I'm more than a little concerned with how much retooling they're going to have to do next season. It won't be difficult to drag Paris along to Yale, but I don't know how they'll keep Lane around on a regular basis. All of the other Chilton students are likely gone. Dean and Jess are both gone, so they'll need to find a new boyfriend character. Lorelai and Sookie will be starting over at a new inn, presumably bringing Michel along with them.

And then there's the potential shark jumping event that is Sookie and Jackson's baby.

Will Lorelai hook up? There's no reason for her to run into Max again. Alex the coffee man vanished from existence. With Luke's dream, the show might push the two of them together (Vroom goes Fonzie's motorcycle).