Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

HDTV without an HD TV?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   damian p

damian p

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 18 2001

Posted May 19 2003 - 05:58 AM

Comcast is about to launch HD in my area (Santa Clarita, CA). I have a Sony WEGA 32FV26, which of course, is not HD-capable. If I were to get the HD box and use the component connection, would I get any picture at all? Any down-conversion? I know I'm not going to be buying a new TV anytime soon, but I would like to get the 5.1 audio if possible. Thanks for any info.

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   MikeSRC

MikeSRC

    Second Unit



  • 369 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 19 2002

Posted May 19 2003 - 06:04 AM

You won't get any picture on an HD channel without an HD-ready set.
Enjoy!

Mike
SurfRemoteControl.com
SurfAudioVideo.com

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   Jeff Gatie

Jeff Gatie

    Lead Actor



  • 6,531 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted May 19 2003 - 08:23 AM

Comcast does have digital audio output for non-HD digital channels in some areas. It requires a box with a coax digital audio connection, but you can get them to supply you with one if it is available. Give them a call to see if they offer it.

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   Dan Hitchman

Dan Hitchman

    Screenwriter



  • 2,714 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 11 1999

Posted May 19 2003 - 08:47 AM

You could use the S-Video or composite video output and tell the box to downconvert HD signals to 480i. Some HD decoder boxes will also allow 480i downconversion through their component video outs. YMMV. Dan

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   Derek Iverson

Derek Iverson

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 191 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 10 2002

Posted May 19 2003 - 04:33 PM

Why would you want to pay for HDTV programming when you can't benefit from it? If you want HD programming, you need to buy an HD-ready TV.
My Home Theater
My DVD Collection

“JBL S-Series + SVS = ” - Phil Iturralde
----------------------------------------------------
The Portland, OR & Vancouver, WA HT Meet Thread

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   Marcel_V

Marcel_V

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 51 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 24 2003

Posted May 19 2003 - 05:19 PM

Personally, I'd say if HDTV from comcast is able to be downconverted to 480i, and retain its 16x9 aspect and 5.1, it would be a great upgrade from standard analog. If I had a regular TV, getting widescreen and the DVD quality picture would be alone worth it, not even mentioning better sound. Posted Image

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   damian p

damian p

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 18 2001

Posted May 23 2003 - 09:53 AM

Marcel- That's exactly what I'm hoping to do. Comcast told me that the HD box is only $5.00 more. That would be worth it just to get 5.1 and widescreen. I need to find out if their box will do the downconversion.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users