Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Can you use the AVM-20 with a turntable?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 WaltC

WaltC

    Agent

  • 25 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 15 2002

Posted May 06 2003 - 11:08 AM

Hi,

Seems like an obvious question but I never thought of it till.... my son wanted to demo a Music Hall turntable and I thought the AVM-20 could maybe play the turntable though the AUX connection?

If it can why not and what would I have to do?

Thanks

#2 of 6 Chu Gai

Chu Gai

    Lead Actor

  • 7,270 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 29 2001

Posted May 06 2003 - 02:39 PM

It can't be played through the AUX connection and you'll need a phono preamp. Two kinds of cartridges, needles if you will, are available. The more typical, at least it was when I was young, is the moving magnet. Those work just fine through a phono input. The less typical, are the moving coil types. Those cartridges output a much smaller signal that has to be boosted for a typical phono input. This would imply either getting a separate preamp for the phono input, or getting a phono preamp with variable amounts of gain.

When a record is recorded, an equalization is applied to the signal called the RIAA equalization. Hence when the record is played, a reverse RIAA equalization must be applied to make it all sound right. The phono preamp, in addition to boosting the signal, applies this inverse equalization.

A pretty nice article on RIAA is here.

#3 of 6 WaltC

WaltC

    Agent

  • 25 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 15 2002

Posted May 07 2003 - 10:25 AM

Thanks

I guess I will pass for now.

I wonder why Anthem did not add that? Not much demand?

#4 of 6 JoeHard

JoeHard

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 136 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 24 2003

Posted May 07 2003 - 01:21 PM

I have a Marantz AV 550 Pre/Pro with no phono input.I didn't want to shelve my B&O turntable so I added a Parasound Phono preamp for about $125,hooked it up to my tape inputs and have been happy with the sound.
,

#5 of 6 Chu Gai

Chu Gai

    Lead Actor

  • 7,270 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 29 2001

Posted May 08 2003 - 12:24 AM

it's just old technology and the cost to install, which is pennies really, adds up over thousands or millions of units. just one of those things. RS sells an inexpesive box, check em out.
is that the B&O linear tracking unit btw?

#6 of 6 JoeHard

JoeHard

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 136 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 24 2003

Posted May 08 2003 - 02:39 PM

It's a Beogram 2000,no linear tracking.