What's new

Video capture from LaserDisc - realistic? (1 Viewer)

Rob Gillespie

Senior HTF Member
I'm sure some of you have been here before. I have several LaserDiscs which will probably never be released on DVD. Since my LD player needs attention and paying several hundred £££ to get it repaired is not an option, I've been thinking about transferring them to DVD (before anyone gets upset) for my own personal use.

I've been reading a bit on a couple of sites from people who've successfully done this by connecting the LD player directly to a video capture capture card then doing the necessary work from there. My point is - how realistic an option is doing this? I realise I'll have to get a decent card but this is something I've never tried before. Will my 7200rpm Seagate HDs be fast enough? What kind of capacity is needed to capture this kind of material? I know other people have transferred the material to digital video first, but that is not something I can do.

Basically, any advice would be welcome. I'm only concerned about capturing at the moment (I figure that's enough to worry about for the time being). If it's not going to yield good results then I wont bother.

JeremyFr

Supporting Actor
I would forsee it as being possible and 7200rpm drives will work just fine. the only real concern I would have is if the disc's have macrovision and whether or not the capture card will allow you to capture. but other than that I would say it work fine.

Wayne Bundrick

Senior HTF Member
I've done it (for my own personal use) and it worked just fine. The only thing I could wish for is a way to record the AC-3 soundtrack bitstream and preserve it exactly for the DVD. I think it's possible given the right equipment, but I don't have that. Instead I record the stereo digital soundtrack, and I am satisfied with that.

If you capture to DV format, which is a pretty good choice, be aware that it requires 12-13 GB per hour.

Rob Gillespie

Senior HTF Member