Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

H/K AVR 525 and motorola digital cable box


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   Edward Lee

Edward Lee

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 30 2003

Posted May 01 2003 - 03:52 PM

I am trying to setup my H/K AVR 525 remote to control a Motorola digital cable box that is connected to Video 2.

Using code search, no code is found. If I connect the Motorola box to Video 3, and do a code search, it seems to find code 168 which works for about half of the function.

I then connected the Motorola back to Video 2 and manually entered code 168. This does not work at all.

Any reason why the remote only works with this cable box on Video 3?

Is 168 the correct code for the Motorola digital cable box?

Thanks,
Ed Lee

#2 of 6 OFFLINE   Andy_Steb

Andy_Steb

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 64 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 09 2003

Posted May 02 2003 - 02:49 AM

Video 2 is the default for tv and video 3 is the default for cable/sat.What you need to do is reassign the video 2 button to operate cable remotes, you'll find the proceedure on page 41 in the manual "Reassigning device control selectors".

Also the 525 remote doesn't have good support for the motorola remote. Code 168 will give you a start, but you'll have to learn the codes for the rest of the funtions.See page 38 "learning Codes"

accually the best thing to do is, forget everything I just said and erase all codes on video 2 and manually program every button on the remote. I know this is a long proccess but it works the best

#3 of 6 OFFLINE   Steve K.H.

Steve K.H.

    Supporting Actor



  • 719 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 11 2002

Posted May 03 2003 - 02:40 AM

Quote:
accually the best thing to do is, forget everything I just said and erase all codes on video 2 and manually program every button on the remote. I know this is a long proccess but it works the best


Good Advice! Posted Image

Bluecruzer...
"The new phone books are here!!!..."

#4 of 6 OFFLINE   Edward Lee

Edward Lee

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 30 2003

Posted May 03 2003 - 03:50 AM

Quote:
accually the best thing to do is, forget everything I just said and erase all codes on video 2 and manually program every button on the remote. I know this is a long proccess but it works the best


What is the advantage to this compared with starting with code 168 and then learning the rest of the functions?

Thanks,
Ed Lee

#5 of 6 OFFLINE   Edward Lee

Edward Lee

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 30 2003

Posted May 03 2003 - 04:15 AM

Quote:
Video 2 is the default for tv and video 3 is the default for cable/sat.What you need to do is reassign the video 2 button to operate cable remotes, you'll find the proceedure on page 41 in the manual "Reassigning device control selectors".


Thanks, this worked perfectly.

Quote:
Also the 525 remote doesn't have good support for the motorola remote. Code 168 will give you a start, but you'll have to learn the codes for the rest of the funtions.See page 38 "learning Codes"


I can't learn codes on the Video 2. I assume this is because I reassigned Video 2 the cbl/sat device selector? Any way around this?

Thanks,
Ed Lee

#6 of 6 OFFLINE   Andy_Steb

Andy_Steb

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 64 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 09 2003

Posted May 03 2003 - 01:00 PM

Codes, codes, learning codes. There are more ways to program the remote than one.

Method 1 – Find the three digit code in your manual. Your HK remote will now emulate the factory remote.

Method 2 – Scan code, learn code. Your HK remote will initiate the on/off command for every code it knows. When your cable box turns off or on you have the right code. The code is the same three digit code as method 1.

Method 3 – learn button. This method is completely different than method 1 and 2. With this method the “code” is the impulses if light given off by the IR diode with every press of a button. In order to learn codes, you place your HK remote head to head with your factory remote. The instructions of how to do this is on the back of your HK remote.

If anyone can explain this better than me Please jump in.


Now back to the original posts. I think your using method 1 or 2 and coming up with code 168( if I’m wrong please don’t get mad at my long winded post, just trying to help a fellow out).This is where you’re having problems. Like I said in an earlier post, the HK remote doesn’t support the Motorola cable box very well. If you use methods 1 or 2 you’ll probably be able to use the number keys and the channel up and down, but that’s about it. If you want to use the “guide”, “menu”, or “arrow keys” you need to program them with method 3.

If you get method 3 figured out I suggest using it for all the commands of your Motorola cable box on video 2.

Quote:
I can't learn codes on the Video 2. I assume this is because I reassigned Video 2 the cbl/sat device selector? Any way around this?


Does the ExSet LED flash when you press the VID2 button and the Learn button at the same time? If It does method 3 should work.If It Doesn't try reseting your HK remote to factory defaults.


Back to Receivers/Separates/Amps



Forum Nav Content I Follow