What's new

A prospective home theater...comments appreciated (1 Viewer)

Shaun Graham

Agent
I'm a poor college student working on a limited budget, so I'm trying to put together a system that will suffice what I like to think are audiophile ears but leave some room to grow as well. Here's what I have lined up, I'd appreciate if people could help me decide on a reciever or give suggestions for interchangable components I haven't thought of:

Reciever: Panasonic SA-HE100 OR Pioneer VSX-811S - aprox. $250

Speakers: Onkyo SKSHT-500 (refurb from Onkyo's website) - $184.95

DVD player: Panasonic DVD-S35S - aprox. $100

Total: $534.95

ChrisMatson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Chris
Are you thinking more about music or home theater?

I think any of the items in your proposed package will work well for home theater, but may leave something to be desired for listening to music in stereo.

I am partial to Yamaha receivers in the ~$300 price range.

What minimum criteria are you looking for--inputs/ouputs, 5.1, 6.1, 7.1, etc...?

KevinST

Stunt Coordinator
I am partial to Onkyo, I have owned two, the first I had for nearly 5 years and it never failed, I just upgraded because I got a good deal on a new one. They tend to throw alot of bass if you want heavy bass.

For recievers in general, they are expensive and worth buying only once in a while unless you are totally loaded which I am not...

make sure it has 5.1, dts, dolby digital, THX is a bit tougher on a limited budget same with SDDS.

if you can find one that has as onkyo calls it "all channel" that is great for music, pumps the stereo sound through all channels, so your music comes out of all 5 (or 7 speakers) in my case.

make sure it has all the hookups you are going to need and a few extras, sucks to have to swap plugs, if you are going to run video game systems through the thing, then really make sure you have multiple inputs....