What's new

Help deciding on what to do. (1 Viewer)

Peter_J_B

Agent
Hey, I've been lurking on this site for quite some time, and decided to finally post as the time possibly is now for me to make a purchase. The reviews and posts here are great, but the fact that the search engine barely ever works is pretty horrible. It's funny that bandwidth maybe the issue with the search being down, yet because the search function is down, people like me need to create posts to get the answers we need which use up more bandwidth and server space.

Anyway, I'll try to make this simple. I'm new to the HT scene, and have recently bought a house that will be completed in September. *knock on wood* I will be building a low end home theatre, and currently am just going to start out with a receiver and speakers, and keep my existing 32" Sony which is 7 or 8 years old. When I get all that up and running, I will check finances and the room potential, and ideally buy a front projector, if not a rptv.

This will be in the basement, which is pretty big but I'll probably section off maybe a 12x20' area for my HT.

So I am now thinking of buying a receiver. And currently I can buy the Onkyo TXSR600 for $321 refurb from their website, I believe with free shipping. This seems like a good deal for a receiver that I've read outstanding reviews for. I'm just not aware of the array of receivers in it's class that compete. Price is definitely an issue. I've seen some mention the Denon AVR 1803 and wonder if this is a better option, or if it's even available refurb or whatever and can be kept at the same pricepoint, or if there are still yet better options.

My last option, is to wait. Should I just stop wondering what to buy for now, and wait until my house is constructed, and then see what's on the market? I don't know if I'd get much use from the receiver right now, as I don't even have speakers, and would need to get those, and currently live in a smallish condo.