-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Calibrating my subwoofer?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 Phil_Lunar

Phil_Lunar

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 61 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 11 2002

Posted April 27 2003 - 04:34 AM

might be more appropriate to this section :


First, I must tell you that I've read a lot of past thred on this matter, but I still don't get it....

I got a Kenwwod VR-410 receiver, 5 speakers kit(small) from Kenwood and for sub I was previously using a passive low end 8" Kenwood sub but now made myself a nice Shiva Sonotub and I've been running it for 1 month.Both my sub have been powered by my old 100WX2 Pionner Stereo amp(so I am runnig it like a poweer sub via the pre-out LFE

Now I got Avia Guide disk and a SPL analog meter from RadioShack

I got no problem to calibrate the 5 channels, but I got to the sub, it is a whole different story : I've read on most post here that to properly calibrate your sub level, on Avia on the chapter 7 subwoofer set up(the test when it alternate between a High noise and a low noise) I should read on my SPL(set to C and slow) the same DB for both sound noise right?

well there must be something wrong on my set up because if I crank it that much, it is way to much bass(very strong boomy distorted, ear bleeding bass!!)

Now don't get me wrong, I love strong bass, but tight bass, and I found that with DB hit on my SPL 10 DB lower than the higer pink noise seem to be quite a good level. And I still have very good Wall shaking bass!

now I know that you have to set your system the way each of us like it, but I am the kind of guys that love to follow rules when calibrating, and this one dosen't match.

at first , I tought that it was becaue of my poor first 8" sub and that he wasen't able to deliver a high level, but now with my DIY Shiva, I still got the same king of setting needed(of course It sound way much better and deeper!)

anyone else experiencing the same king of trouble(if I can say so)?
-Phil and My DVD Collection

"Tempo is everything, perfection unattainable..."
Axiom Loudspeakers: They are really kick ass!

#2 of 7 Lee Carbray

Lee Carbray

    Second Unit

  • 308 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 23 2002

Posted April 28 2003 - 02:08 AM

Phil, do you have the cinema eq on? That will mess up your base response. I have the VR-509 and with the EQ on you cannot properly adjust the base.
"You can't be a real country unless you have a beer and an airline. It helps if you have some kind of a football team, or some nuclear weapons, but at the very least you need a beer." Frank Zappa

Dealer listing for Toronto & Area

My Shiva

#3 of 7 Phil_Lunar

Phil_Lunar

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 61 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 11 2002

Posted April 28 2003 - 03:33 AM

Quote:
Phil, do you have the cinema eq on?


Hemmm, I don't think I got this option, but to be sure, I've just ckecked the instruction manual of your VR-509 on the Kenwood website to see what is this Cinema EQ, and if you are referring to the setting you can set when usnig the circle surround DSP(Cinema or Music setting it said) than I didn't got this one.. unfurtunatly.

but thanks anyway!
-Phil and My DVD Collection

"Tempo is everything, perfection unattainable..."
Axiom Loudspeakers: They are really kick ass!

#4 of 7 Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh

    Producer

  • 5,183 posts
  • Join Date: May 22 1999

Posted April 28 2003 - 03:33 AM

A couple of things:

- Your sub could be in a bad position where waves from 4 walls intersect at your listening position to create unusual peaks of sound. Try some of the popular subwoofer-placement techniques first.

- Get a bass test-tone CD or download the NCH Test Tone generator and burn your own test CD. Use the SPL meter to chart the room-response at each octive frequency from ...16-120 hz. This will tell you how 'flat' your room response is. Hint: search the "Speakers and Subwoofers" fourm for "House Curve" to find others who have done this and posted their results.

- If all else fails, you may be a canidate for the $130 Behring Feedback Destroyer (BFD). This cool device is a programmable parametric equalizer. Using your room-response data from above, you can tell this thing to reduce the problem frequencies to bring the peaks down. Search the Speakers fourm for "BFD" for more info.

Good Luck and let us know what you did/results even the things that did not work.

#5 of 7 Phil_Lunar

Phil_Lunar

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 61 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 11 2002

Posted April 28 2003 - 03:54 AM

Well well...

let see I've trying several position for my sub but since I got quite a Akward room, this might be a problem.

I got a 22X20 feet room(4 concrete wall), and out of this room , I've made a 12X15 smaller kind-of-room out of big tick curtain.

Here is a map(if I can say so) of my room
________________
|----------------|
|-------________|
|-------|-1-TV-2|
|-------|--------|
|-------|--------|
|-------|-couch-|
|______|___3___|

the 3 numbers, referer to the 3 positions where I've tryed my sub so far. the position 3 is the best one and the one I am using now.

I've used a test tone generator already, and I got a pretty flat response(I will try to put a table here sometime later if I can) but let say I am quite in a +-4 db(using Radio Shack SPL correction values) from 80Hz down to 18hz where I am starting to loose it.

as for the BFD Well, like I said, it is not realy a big problem since with my actual setting(10DB lower) I got very good tight Bass response and I really enjoy listening to movie on my system.

so maybe, it is just because of my room. I can live with that until I move to a Own house where I will have a real room for HT.

thanks anyway!
-Phil and My DVD Collection

"Tempo is everything, perfection unattainable..."
Axiom Loudspeakers: They are really kick ass!

#6 of 7 JohnnyG

JohnnyG

    Screenwriter

  • 1,523 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 18 2000

Posted April 28 2003 - 07:03 AM

Here's my similar story:

I just moved out of my old house and I'm living with my in-laws until our new house is built. I have a pair of Infinity IL60 powered towers and they calibrated perfectly in the old ~20x20 foot room. The room they are in now is ~13x25 and they are at the front, across the narrower wall. After setting the whole system up, I popped in Avia, whipped out my Radio Shack SPL meter and hit the test tones. WAY TOO MUCH BASS at the 'proper' level! I thought that maybe the battery was dying in the SPL meter, so I replaced it but the results were the same.

Until I can put some time into it, I just lowered the sub control by 5db, but it's really still too much. The Infinity's have the RABOS single-band parameter EQ in them (it's disabled right now) and I hope this is the solution to this problem, but it's been a real head-scratcher so far!

#7 of 7 Phil_Lunar

Phil_Lunar

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 61 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 11 2002

Posted April 28 2003 - 12:41 PM

well, at least I am not alone! Posted Image

not much of a problem, but like you said, a real head-scratcher !
-Phil and My DVD Collection

"Tempo is everything, perfection unattainable..."
Axiom Loudspeakers: They are really kick ass!