Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

DirecTV reciever question???


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   Rachael B

Rachael B

    Producer



  • 4,637 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 05 2000

Posted April 12 2003 - 03:41 PM

I recently got DirecTV for the first time. I'm definitely not experienced! I bought one of those specials down at Busted Buy. I got a Hughes DirecTivo which is right nice. I got a LMB dish that's hi-def capable and the weak sister in the deal was this nasty little black RCA reciever, it's a DRD430RGA. isn't that a lovely model #? It's got such a ring to it. I use if for my secondary tube set and I hate it. I could tolerate it but the bleeding guide fuction is pathetic. You press the navigation buttons and sometimes sit and wait a second or two or even 10-15 seconds for the on-screen menu items to actually move.

OK, the question is do most other stand-alone DirecTV recievers have guide menus that function better? Faster! I hope! I'm tempted to buy a better reciever, already! Thanks in advance! Posted Image
Rachael, the big disc cat is in real life Dot Mongur, Champion of the International Pacman Federation. You better be ready to rumble if you play Jr. Pacman with me. This is full contact Pacman and I don't just play the game, I operate it!


#2 of 6 OFFLINE   Grant B

Grant B

    Producer



  • 3,213 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 29 2000

Posted April 12 2003 - 06:24 PM

Hey Rachael, long time!
Some the GUIs really suck. I set up a few Mits HD for friends and didn't care for them. I really like Sonys menu. I have the HD100 (HD200 is out now) and a Sat A4 in Bedroom. Very fast menus (except if you have a TIVO hooked up) and fairly easy to follow.
Do you have 2 or 3 LNBs?
if there is a space in the middle, you have 2 and cant get Showtime HD. If you have ST you can get the LNB from Directv for around $8 if you install it your self...fairly easy unless you have it way high.
They quoted me around $300 for them to come do it.
Email me if you have any more questions if you want.
BTW I was going to send you those cds but I lost your mailing address when my HD crashed. Let me know again when you can
"Whatever it is, I'm against it!" G. Marx

Sony TAE/TAP/TAN(2)9000ES;DVP-CX860 DVP-CX777ES
Sony CDP-CX270 CDP-CX355 CDP-CX270 CDP-CX355
Sony S-TS 700ES XPR32450Pioneer Elite CLD 79 KEFs (5) Q75s & 20B Subwoofer

#3 of 6 OFFLINE   Rachael B

Rachael B

    Producer



  • 4,637 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 05 2000

Posted April 13 2003 - 01:31 PM

Grant, I have 3 LNB's. I left '3' out of a sentence in the original post. Grant I do have a Sony 2000 Tivo running with the RCA box. The RCA box has no serial control port so I have to use IR blasters. Do the Sony's have a port for serial control? Anybody else have an opinion about a good, modestly priced reciever?

P.S.- Grant I'll e-mail you soon.Posted Image
Rachael, the big disc cat is in real life Dot Mongur, Champion of the International Pacman Federation. You better be ready to rumble if you play Jr. Pacman with me. This is full contact Pacman and I don't just play the game, I operate it!


#4 of 6 OFFLINE   Grant B

Grant B

    Producer



  • 3,213 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 29 2000

Posted April 13 2003 - 04:15 PM

I have the same one but the sony xcvr does have a serial port.
I think part of the delay is the Tivo and not the RCA.
I have it hooked into the bedroom system since it cant do HD and I am not fond of it's delay or picture degradation.
I believe my HD 100 has a serial port too
"Whatever it is, I'm against it!" G. Marx

Sony TAE/TAP/TAN(2)9000ES;DVP-CX860 DVP-CX777ES
Sony CDP-CX270 CDP-CX355 CDP-CX270 CDP-CX355
Sony S-TS 700ES XPR32450Pioneer Elite CLD 79 KEFs (5) Q75s & 20B Subwoofer

#5 of 6 OFFLINE   Rachael B

Rachael B

    Producer



  • 4,637 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 05 2000

Posted April 13 2003 - 04:51 PM

Grant, I bypass the Tivo when I use the guide feature, to look at the guide, not to change the channel. That's the only thing I do with the clumsy remote that came with the RCA. I'm gonna look around and see if I can find a last year's model Sony, maybe? Every place I've looked so far just offers the $800 hi-def one. I'm thinking that may be the only current model...? Sony seems to have shrunk it's lines in many categories lately. Have you used Hughes? Recuerdos mi amigo!Posted Image
Rachael, the big disc cat is in real life Dot Mongur, Champion of the International Pacman Federation. You better be ready to rumble if you play Jr. Pacman with me. This is full contact Pacman and I don't just play the game, I operate it!


#6 of 6 OFFLINE   TomCW

TomCW

    Second Unit



  • 339 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 04 2002

Posted April 13 2003 - 05:29 PM

Rachel,
I have an older Hughes DTV receiver, not hdtv, and the GUI is very good, it's fast, makes sense and is easy to use.
Don't get a Sony A65 (I think it's non HDTV anyway), as it has a severe overheat problem.
Tom
I like to live in an altered state/ it makes me love all the things I hate.