-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

Harry Potter COS glitch


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
41 replies to this topic

#1 of 42 shane_watson

shane_watson

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 125 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 12 2002

Posted April 11 2003 - 05:21 AM

i just picked up chamber of secrets and im having problems with it,the frames will freeze and pixelate right after the cribbage battle(good sound btw)and will not play the rest of that chapter, if anyone has this problem with thier disc let me know,i may have a bad copy,all my other 50 dvds play fine so its not the player.

#2 of 42 Lou Sytsma

Lou Sytsma

    Producer

  • 5,260 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 01 1998

Posted April 11 2003 - 05:57 AM

What is your make of DVD player? I'm going to guess it's a Toshiba.Posted Image
Every man is my superior, in that I may learn from him.

#3 of 42 shane_watson

shane_watson

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 125 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 12 2002

Posted April 11 2003 - 06:10 AM

no,i got a jvc,but why do you ask,i already stated it wasnt a player problem.

#4 of 42 Steve Tannehill

Steve Tannehill

    Producer

  • 5,458 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 06 1997
  • Real Name:Steve Tannehill
  • LocationDFW

Posted April 11 2003 - 07:44 AM

Sounds like it could be a player problem. Or a disc problem. Or a movie problem, because I don't recall cribbage being played in the movie. Posted Image

The layer switch is way after the quidditch match, so it's not that. I think you have a disc problem.

- Steve

#5 of 42 shane_watson

shane_watson

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 125 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 12 2002

Posted April 11 2003 - 07:49 AM

cribbage.............quidditch whats the dif.im taking my disc back to exchange it tonight but if anyone has the movie see if your disc has the same problem.Posted Image

#6 of 42 Steve Tannehill

Steve Tannehill

    Producer

  • 5,458 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 06 1997
  • Real Name:Steve Tannehill
  • LocationDFW

Posted April 11 2003 - 07:51 AM

I did and it doesn't.

- Steve

#7 of 42 shane_watson

shane_watson

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 125 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 12 2002

Posted April 11 2003 - 07:53 AM

thanks steve btw i need to stop playin cards,dont I:b

#8 of 42 Chad R

Chad R

    Screenwriter

  • 2,174 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 14 1999
  • Real Name:Chad Rouch

Posted April 11 2003 - 08:51 AM

It could be a player/disc compatibility issue which frequently pops up around these parts which is why it's common to let us know what your player is. That way, if several people with the same player have the same problem something can be done about it.

#9 of 42 shane_watson

shane_watson

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 125 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 12 2002

Posted April 11 2003 - 08:58 AM

its a jvc xvs62

#10 of 42 Trevor Harrison

Trevor Harrison

    Agent

  • 30 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 07 2002

Posted April 11 2003 - 10:03 AM

I was in the checkout at Futureshop and 2 people a father and a women, and they had the fullscreen versions, They didn't know the differece, I told them that the full screen cropped the movie by 50% so they both got the widescreen (at leas the father did).
Get busy living or get busy dying

–– Stephen King

#11 of 42 DonRoeber

DonRoeber

    Screenwriter

  • 1,851 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2001

Posted April 11 2003 - 10:53 AM

Watching it now on my Sony 655P, no problems at all.
Luckily, right at that moment, an unconscious Argentinean fell through my roof.

He was quickly joined by a dwarf dressed as a nun.

#12 of 42 Jeremy Anderson

Jeremy Anderson

    Screenwriter

  • 1,052 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 1999

Posted April 11 2003 - 12:35 PM

Incidentally, I once took a bottle to the head during a cribbage match. I don't remember there being any surround sound... and I woke up with no pants. And the bizarre thing is... I don't know how to play cribbage.

Oh wait, maybe I was just drunk. Posted Image

#13 of 42 Joe Fisher

Joe Fisher

    Screenwriter

  • 1,379 posts
  • Join Date: May 11 2001
  • Real Name:Joseph E Fisher

Posted April 11 2003 - 01:02 PM

Shane,

I also had a problem with mine too. Pixelated at the 1:07:46 mark and would really break up bad. But solved the problem real easy. I took the disc out & gave it a gentle wipe down and it played fine after that. So give that a shot.

Joe

#14 of 42 Bryan X

Bryan X

    Producer

  • 3,469 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 10 2003

Posted April 11 2003 - 01:10 PM

Played fine on my Sony DVP-NS715P.

#15 of 42 Chris

Chris

    Lead Actor

  • 6,790 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 1997

Posted April 11 2003 - 03:02 PM

Tried to different players, and right at 1:08 it runs into a major freeze/glitch that lasts a few seconds and then another stoppage in the seen in which harry/ron are confronted while they pretend to be crab/goyle..

Occurred on:

A toshiba 5 Disc DVD-Changer
a Panasonic 5 Disc DVD-Changer

*gah!*
My Current DVD-Profiler


"I've been Ostrafied!" - Christopher, Sopranos 5/6/07

#16 of 42 Jeff Whitford

Jeff Whitford

    Screenwriter

  • 1,266 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1998

Posted April 11 2003 - 05:48 PM

Plays perfect on my Panasonic RP56. Infact now that think about it I never noticed the layer change.
Jeff Whitford
Hometheater Guru ?

#17 of 42 Ryan Wong

Ryan Wong

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 134 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 06 2002

Posted April 11 2003 - 09:13 PM

I am having a Region 3 COS DVD. I realised the bitrate English Dolby Digital EX track for my DVD is only 384kbps.

Can someone who bought Region 1 version tell me whether it is 448kbps or just 384kbps for Region 1 English Dolby Digital EX track?

If it is 488kbps then I might need to buy Region 1 version again. Thanks.
Ryan Wong

#18 of 42 shane_watson

shane_watson

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 125 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 12 2002

Posted April 12 2003 - 05:37 AM

traded for another disc this morning,i just watched the chapter that was freezing on my old disc, no problems at all,i havent had a chance to see if i have any problems with the rest of the movie,thanks for everyones heads up on this.

#19 of 42 greg_t

greg_t

    Screenwriter

  • 1,654 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 18 2001

Posted April 12 2003 - 06:14 AM

According to Widescreen Review, the Dolby Digital is 384kbps for Region 1. Warner doesn't seem to like 448kbps Dolby, which is a good question to ask during the chat with Warner.

#20 of 42 Jesse Skeen

Jesse Skeen

    Producer

  • 4,001 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 24 1999

Posted April 12 2003 - 07:35 AM

The region 1 disc is actually coded for regions 1 and 4 BTW- I'm such a geek that I always check this stuff. Posted Image
Home video oddities, old commercials and other junk: http://www.youtube.com/user/eyeh8nbc