Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Why don't DVD recorders have coax digital inputs?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
9 replies to this topic

#1 of 10 OFFLINE   Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown

    Producer



  • 5,713 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 03 2000

Posted April 09 2003 - 02:09 PM

You know, so you could put like 5 CD's worth of 16/44 music on one DVD? I don't think I've seen one like this. But yet you can get CD recorders with digital inputs so I don't think it's a copyright issue. PC based DVD recorders can do this, right?
If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ...

#2 of 10 OFFLINE   Philip Hamm

Philip Hamm

    Lead Actor



  • 6,885 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 23 1999

Posted April 09 2003 - 02:19 PM

PC based digital recorders can do virtually anything. It's not really valid to compare the two.

DVD stand-alone units should have digital inputs IMO. I've never looked to see if they do or not.
Philip Hamm
Moderator Emeritus

#3 of 10 OFFLINE   Reginald Trent

Reginald Trent

    Screenwriter



  • 1,317 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 18 2000

Posted April 09 2003 - 08:55 PM

Not sure about the Phillips DVD recorder but the Panasonic DMR E-30 has only analog inputs.

#4 of 10 OFFLINE   jeff peterson

jeff peterson

    Supporting Actor



  • 678 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 29 1998

Posted April 10 2003 - 09:05 AM

You must remember, most consumer model standalone CD recorders can only use music CD-Rs for digital copying, ensuring a royalty payment. The payment is included in the cost of these music CD-Rs; thus their higher cost.

There are no DVD-R blanks that have a royalty structure built in; hence the lack of digital ins (they don't want us to have bit-perfect copies royalty free)

#5 of 10 OFFLINE   Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown

    Producer



  • 5,713 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 03 2000

Posted April 10 2003 - 12:34 PM

Jeff- Makes sense! Thanks.

Oooooh: I have a pro CD recorder: takes computer blanks. I wonder if there are "pro" DVD burners yet. Hmmm... Posted Image
If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ...

#6 of 10 OFFLINE   Matt DeVillier

Matt DeVillier

    Supporting Actor



  • 781 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 03 1999

Posted April 11 2003 - 01:24 AM

redbook CD audio is 16/44, whereas LPCM on dvd is 16/48. It would require resampling either way.

#7 of 10 OFFLINE   Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown

    Producer



  • 5,713 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 03 2000

Posted April 11 2003 - 08:03 AM

I didn't know that. I wouldn't think a big deal though, because MD and DAT decks have sample rate converters that, if good quality, don't compromise the digital signal that much...
If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ...

#8 of 10 OFFLINE   Grant B

Grant B

    Producer



  • 3,213 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 29 2000

Posted April 11 2003 - 09:43 AM

Hey Kevin
Did you buy one yet?
I have a DVD burner on my computer but have not got anything to turn out decent and the blanks are too $$$ to mess up
Grant
"Whatever it is, I'm against it!" G. Marx

Sony TAE/TAP/TAN(2)9000ES;DVP-CX860 DVP-CX777ES
Sony CDP-CX270 CDP-CX355 CDP-CX270 CDP-CX355
Sony S-TS 700ES XPR32450Pioneer Elite CLD 79 KEFs (5) Q75s & 20B Subwoofer

#9 of 10 OFFLINE   Philip Hamm

Philip Hamm

    Lead Actor



  • 6,885 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 23 1999

Posted April 11 2003 - 03:34 PM

Quote:
I didn't know that. I wouldn't think a big deal though, because MD and DAT decks have sample rate converters that, if good quality, don't compromise the digital signal that much...
You're right. I've used the sample rate converter on my MD machines to make CDs from 44.8K DVD audio streams and the difference is not noticable.
Philip Hamm
Moderator Emeritus

#10 of 10 OFFLINE   Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown

    Producer



  • 5,713 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 03 2000

Posted April 11 2003 - 05:08 PM

Grant- Not yet, and here's why: Posted Image

Took me until Christmas 2001 to get a PC CD burner. I paid $99 for a 4x4x6 (or something) Iomega external unit. But then I went to town with EAC, CDRWIN, and a new ATAPI layer. Love it.

But since I got that bugger so recently, I need to wait a little while until I get some more use out of it to justify getting a DVD burner! Plus I still need to learn about the formats, and right: once DVD-blanks get cheap enough you can just throw them away like CD-R's if you burn a coaster, it will be a lot more enticing...
If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ...