Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Coax Digital Audio - Two Outputs Into One Receiver Input


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
27 replies to this topic

#1 of 28 OFFLINE   John_ryr

John_ryr

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2003

Posted April 09 2003 - 03:58 AM

Hi, relative newbie that has been browsing this forum for a few weeks now, but have yet to find an answer to a problem I have. I recently bought a new sony (STR DE885) receiver which has ONE coax digital audio output. The DVD player is currently connected to that (No optical output from DVD) but I would like to also use the coax digital audio output from my digital cable into the reciever. Any suggestions for this. I know that parts express has a coax/optical converter, which would then require me to buy both cables. Could I just pruchase a really good Y connector (2 female to 1 male) and feed both to the same input?

Thanks!

#2 of 28 OFFLINE   Armand G

Armand G

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 151 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 18 2000

Posted April 09 2003 - 05:26 AM

Hi John,

See my thread. I had almost the same question, but then for an AC-3 RF input.

http://www.hometheat....hreadid=134294
Hometheater Rules!

#3 of 28 OFFLINE   John_ryr

John_ryr

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2003

Posted April 09 2003 - 05:54 AM

Thanks Armand.
What type of A/B switch did you use, if any? I'd rather stay away from an A/B switch unless I can get one I can control remotely (IR) via my Philips Pronto.

Does anyone know if a Y-connector would work??

#4 of 28 OFFLINE   Armand G

Armand G

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 151 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 18 2000

Posted April 09 2003 - 06:01 AM

I don't use either of them. I'd also rather not use a switch but until now I don't know what the consequence is when using a Y splitter. I just posted the question this week hoping for anyone who can explain what happens when using a Y splitter. I am very curious you know.

I think we just have to wait for someone who can explain a little concerning the two options.
Hometheater Rules!

#5 of 28 OFFLINE   John_ryr

John_ryr

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2003

Posted April 09 2003 - 06:11 AM

Maybe next time I will look when your original post was made - I did not realize it was only two days ago!

It seems that many people have veiwed the thread, so maybe someone can respond to it.

Also isn't dolby digital and AC-3 one and the same? I think we are talking about the same type of cabling here.

#6 of 28 OFFLINE   Armand G

Armand G

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 151 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 18 2000

Posted April 09 2003 - 06:26 AM

No problem.

They are not quite the same. Dolby Digital can be 1.0, 2.0 .... 5.1. AC-3 what it was called in the laserdisc days, I am still a huge fan btw. AC-3 stands for 5.1 audio. In other words a LD encoded with AC-3 contains almost always 5.1 audio. Offcourse there are some exceptions.

When dvd was introduced there was a lot of confusion over dvd's containing Dolby Digital. People were automatically under the impression that DD=5.1. Not. When they played there discs at home they noticed that a lot of them were only DD 2.0..

Regards,
Armand
Hometheater Rules!

#7 of 28 OFFLINE   Michael Reuben

Michael Reuben

    Studio Mogul



  • 21,769 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 1998

Posted April 09 2003 - 06:38 AM

Quote:
AC-3 stands for 5.1 audio.
Sorry, but that's not correct. "AC-3" stands for "audio codec 3" and is synonymous with "Dolby Digital". In fact, when the first DD LDs were released, the format was commonly referred to as "Dolby Digital AC-3".

What distinguished the question in your earlier thread was the addition of the letters "RF". To answer John's question: Dolby Digital was encoded differently on laserdisc than on DVD and required a specialized output (commonly known as "AC-3 RF") and additional processing circuitry. However, the cabling for a laserdisc AC-3 RF output was the same as for a standard coaxial digital output.

M.
COMPLETE list of my disc reviews.       HTF Rules / 200920102011 Film Lists

#8 of 28 OFFLINE   Armand G

Armand G

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 151 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 18 2000

Posted April 09 2003 - 07:01 AM

Michael,

That's what I meant. I know it means audio codec 3. What I meant was that AC-3 equals 5.1 audio. Sorry that I wasn't to clear on the subject.
Hometheater Rules!

#9 of 28 OFFLINE   Armand G

Armand G

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 151 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 18 2000

Posted April 09 2003 - 07:02 AM

Do you know if it's allright to use a Y splitter?
Hometheater Rules!

#10 of 28 OFFLINE   Michael Reuben

Michael Reuben

    Studio Mogul



  • 21,769 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 1998

Posted April 09 2003 - 07:23 AM

Quote:
What I meant was that AC-3 equals 5.1 audio.

Armand, I know that's what you meant, but it's not correct. AC-3 is the name for the codec used in all DD encoding, from 5.1 to 1.0. It is not, and never has been, used by Dolby as a synonym for "5.1".

M.
COMPLETE list of my disc reviews.       HTF Rules / 200920102011 Film Lists

#11 of 28 OFFLINE   John_ryr

John_ryr

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2003

Posted April 09 2003 - 07:30 AM

OK. Enough of the definitions. The burning question is whether a splitter can be used for coax digital audio.

Any comments??

#12 of 28 OFFLINE   Armand G

Armand G

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 151 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 18 2000

Posted April 09 2003 - 08:25 AM

You're probably right. The last thing I want to say about it is that a lot of people are confused concerning DD and AC-3.

Can you help us with our dilemma?
Hometheater Rules!

#13 of 28 OFFLINE   Michael Reuben

Michael Reuben

    Studio Mogul



  • 21,769 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 1998

Posted April 09 2003 - 08:25 AM

Quote:
Any comments??

Same comment as in Armand's thread, linked to above: You're better off using an A/B switch.

Could you use a splitter? Sure. Will you encounter any problems if you do? No idea. I doubt many people here have tried it. Maybe you can report back on your experience.

M.
COMPLETE list of my disc reviews.       HTF Rules / 200920102011 Film Lists

#14 of 28 OFFLINE   Armand G

Armand G

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 151 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 18 2000

Posted April 09 2003 - 08:29 AM

Ok. I guess the only way to tell for certain is to buy a splitter and test it.

I hoped since, there are a lot of enthusiasts on the forum, that one of them had tried this already or compared it to a switch.
Hometheater Rules!

#15 of 28 OFFLINE   John_ryr

John_ryr

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2003

Posted April 09 2003 - 08:36 AM

looks like I'm off to the store, possibly tonight...

#16 of 28 OFFLINE   Armand G

Armand G

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 151 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 18 2000

Posted April 09 2003 - 08:45 AM

Please let me know what your experiences are, since you'll have the splitter before I do.
Hometheater Rules!

#17 of 28 OFFLINE   Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph

    Lead Actor



  • 8,341 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 16 1998
  • Real Name:Neil Joseph

Posted April 09 2003 - 09:02 AM

There's no doubt that it will work. The real question is are there any consequences in doing so. Just make sure you don't output both signals at the same time. Even though the voltages are fairly low, by having two signals at the same time, you will get doubling of voltages and I am sure that this is not recommended. Why take chances?
Click and enter " T H E . H O L O D E C K "
---------------------------------------------------------
My Home Theatre "The Holodeck"

 


#18 of 28 OFFLINE   Armand G

Armand G

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 151 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 18 2000

Posted April 09 2003 - 09:07 AM

Thanks. Your remark is noted.
Hometheater Rules!

#19 of 28 OFFLINE   John_ryr

John_ryr

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2003

Posted April 10 2003 - 05:16 AM

Well, I bought a coaxial digital cable and a splitter. I hooked up the cables, but with failed results. See, the coax in on my receiver is marked DVD/LD in. I think I would have to reconnect my cable's s-video to the DVD connection each time for it to work correctly.

Looks like I'm going with the coax-to-optical piece on parts express, which means one of each cable...

#20 of 28 OFFLINE   Armand G

Armand G

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 151 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 18 2000

Posted April 10 2003 - 05:30 AM

Sorry to hear that John. I think I am going to use one LD player for AC-3 and the other one for DTS. I that case I don't have to use a switch or a splitter.

Good luck!

Regards,
Armand
Hometheater Rules!





Forum Nav Content I Follow