Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

DirecTV w/TIVO: "Cannot Load Kernel"


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   Bill_D

Bill_D

    Supporting Actor



  • 755 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 09 2001

Posted April 07 2003 - 02:16 AM

I have a Sony SAT-T60 unit that displays the message in the subject line. I have had the T60 since it was introduced on the market. Sony sent this unit as a replacement for original unit that was stuck on the "we're almost there" message. The replacement unit has worked flawlessly until Sunday. It will only display the error message. No DirectTV or TIVO, just a black screen with the error message.

Can you transfer the lifetime from a Series 1 DirectTIVO to a Series 2 DirectTV w/ TIVO unit?

Hopefully, the message is an indication that the hard drive is dead as I was planning to replace it with a higher capacity drive anyway.

Has anyone experienced this error message?

Am I on the right track?

Or do I need to send it back to Sony ........ again?

DAGGONIT!

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor



  • 8,160 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted April 07 2003 - 03:22 AM

It sounds like the drive died. You can buy a drive and download a T60 image from a few guys over at Tivo Community or you can order a drive from a number of places.

I don't know if D* will allow you to transfer lifetime service since they don't offer it anymore. You may have to go through Sony to get an eligible replacement.

-Robert

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   MikeSRC

MikeSRC

    Second Unit



  • 369 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 19 2002

Posted April 07 2003 - 03:24 AM

I've seen this error message before and if it doesn't clear by pulling the plug on the unit for a few minutes, it's likely you'll need to have the unit replaced. I'm afraid I don't know if just replacing the hard drive will help.
Enjoy!

Mike
SurfRemoteControl.com
SurfAudioVideo.com

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   MikeM

MikeM

    Screenwriter



  • 1,207 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 1999

Posted April 07 2003 - 06:34 AM

I have a virgin Sony T60 Software image if you need it.

Are you comfortable making tweaks yourself? If so, I can walk you through it.

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   Bill_D

Bill_D

    Supporting Actor



  • 755 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 09 2001

Posted April 07 2003 - 07:04 AM

Quote:
Are you comfortable making tweaks yourself?


Most definitely.

I just don't want to go buy a drive, install and then find out it is a board problem.

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   MikeM

MikeM

    Screenwriter



  • 1,207 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 1999

Posted April 07 2003 - 01:10 PM

Well, if you want to try some process of elimination before going to the full replacement install, you need to try the following:

1. Turf off the unit off for about five minutes by unplugging it.

2. If you plug it back in and get what appears to be a normal boot, immediately go to the setup menu and choose "Clear and Reset Everything"

Then, reboot again. This could do the trick, but you lose everything. Posted Image

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   Chris Gerhard

Chris Gerhard

    Screenwriter



  • 1,275 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 08 2002
  • Real Name:Chris Gerhard

Posted April 07 2003 - 01:41 PM

As far as your lifetime subscription, it is tied to your DirecTV account so a new HDVR2 or SAT-T60 or other model DirecTV DVR Powered by TiVo would indeed have lifetime service. DirecTV made the announcement that lifetime is tied to the account and not the unit about 7 months ago or so.

Chris