Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

need Help setting up a Denon AVR-3200 Receiver and


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
16 replies to this topic

#1 of 17 OFFLINE   Don

Don

    Second Unit



  • 376 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted April 06 2003 - 10:27 PM

setting the dvd player up to it. i need to know how do i know if i have the speakers set to large or small. also i have the 6 ch. ext going to my dvd player dvd player is a toshiba sd-4700 according to Denon i hook the dvd player with the 2 channel audio and the video do i still have to do this. Don,

#2 of 17 OFFLINE   Chuck Kent

Chuck Kent

    Supporting Actor



  • 983 posts
  • Join Date: May 29 1999

Posted April 06 2003 - 10:45 PM

Don: Your post is not very clear. I'm not sure what you're asking...

If you are trying to set speaker size on the Denon, you need to do it via the setup menu on the TV. It can't be done by just using the receiver's front panel.

Also, (if you are going to use the 6 channel input to connect to your DVD player,) the receiver's speaker size settings are meaningless for for the 6 channel input (the DVD player must handle this for the 6 channel connection.) The receiver's 6 channel input bypasses ALL processing and only provides volume control for that input...

#3 of 17 OFFLINE   Don

Don

    Second Unit



  • 376 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted April 07 2003 - 12:03 AM

Chuck i'm not sure how to be sure on the speaker setup i mean on the speakers is it all white that they have or the one that has a white border with a white letter inside it. i am using the remote to set things up but also how do i get my dvd player to work how do i set it up when my dvd players shows diffrent instructions then my receiver does. my dvd player does have a built in dolby digital decoder so i would like to have this option to work. Don,

#4 of 17 OFFLINE   Chuck Kent

Chuck Kent

    Supporting Actor



  • 983 posts
  • Join Date: May 29 1999

Posted April 07 2003 - 02:13 PM

On a Denon, the ALL white choice is the selection, whether it's for speaker selection or whatever.

If you want to run the DVD player for both Dolby Digital and DTS, then run 6 cables from the DVD player into the 6 channel input on the Denon. Remember, as I noted above, your speaker selection on the Denon does NOT do anything on the 6 channel input. You'll have to set speaker size selection on the DVD player for that. I don't know what brand DVD player you have but all of them have a basic setup routine that you'll need to go thru. Just take it one step at a time. Then when you're ready to play a DVD, switch the Denon to the External Input. (Just in case you do end up with something set or hooked up wrong, turn down the volume when you 1st test things so that you won't accidently cook something...)

#5 of 17 OFFLINE   Don

Don

    Second Unit



  • 376 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted April 08 2003 - 01:01 AM

Chuck my DVD player is the Toshiba svp-4700 any ideas on how to set the speakers thru the dvd player. also i have the monitor out going to the video in on the tv. but no video out on the tv. also thanks for your Help. Don,

#6 of 17 OFFLINE   peter m. wilson

peter m. wilson

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 218 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2002

Posted April 08 2003 - 04:09 AM

Hi,
I would use the 6 ch analogue inputs for dvd-a only and use the coax or opt for dvd's. set the Denon to auto when you start playing a dvd and it will find your digital input.

Ten choose either dd or dts from the dvd's menu and the denon will do the rest. Reading the manual that Denon has for my 5800 is vey challenging but you may want to try yours paticularly for speaker settings.

peter m.
dyslexia "for a cure found"

#7 of 17 OFFLINE   Chuck Kent

Chuck Kent

    Supporting Actor



  • 983 posts
  • Join Date: May 29 1999

Posted April 08 2003 - 03:02 PM

Don: I'm no help with a Toshiba. I'm all Sony for my home DVD players.

As for the TV, have you switched it to the input that the Denon is hooked to? Many TVs have multiple inputs and you may have to toggle thru them to get a picture. Also, don't forget that the cable you're trying may not be good. Try a different one just to make sure.
There are other alternatives but these are worth exploring 1st.

#8 of 17 OFFLINE   JeremySt

JeremySt

    Screenwriter



  • 1,773 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2001

Posted April 08 2003 - 04:04 PM

Don, does your Denon 3200 have DTS decoding? If it does, then link your DVD player to it digitally. Forget about using the 6 channel inputs.

If the 3200 lacks DTS, then you will have to use the 6 channel inputs to get DTS. Even so, I would rather use the decoder in the reciever than the DVD player in most setups, even if it means loosing DTS.

#9 of 17 OFFLINE   Don

Don

    Second Unit



  • 376 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted April 09 2003 - 12:25 AM

Jeremy there is no DTS on the AVR-3200 but the AVR-3300 does have it. the reason i'm using the 6 ch input is because toshiba says to do so and i guess that is the way i'll get my dd sound. Don,

#10 of 17 OFFLINE   Don

Don

    Second Unit



  • 376 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted April 09 2003 - 12:27 AM

Chuck you are a Help. without you and the other people here i might of given up on it. but i'm going to retry evreything. Don,

#11 of 17 OFFLINE   Don

Don

    Second Unit



  • 376 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted April 09 2003 - 12:29 AM

Peter how do i choose the dvd a. also how do i do the things you said there is no DTS on this receiver. just my Luck. Don,

#12 of 17 OFFLINE   peter m. wilson

peter m. wilson

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 218 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2002

Posted April 09 2003 - 01:56 AM

Hi,
I can only speak to my reciever but i'm sure we have some similarities.
First If either your dvd player or the denon has dts decoding then all you need is either a coax or optical connection to the reciever. I also have the tosh sd5109 which has dd decoding but only dts pass thru so dts would have tobe done by the reciever. How old is yours? and does it metion dts at all in the manual?

For dvd-a or sacd the analogue inputs on mine are designated as EXT 1 AND EXT 2. If you can find that on the remote or the face of the box that's how to activate it.

I don't think using the analogues for DTS will provide a very satisfactory result as movies and dts music discs are mixed in a way to sound best when using the digital (coax input.
If you don't have dts decoding in either the box or the dvd, probably the cheapest way is to buy a dvd player that decodes both in the player.

good luck,
Peter m.
dyslexia "for a cure found"

#13 of 17 OFFLINE   Don

Don

    Second Unit



  • 376 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted April 09 2003 - 06:59 AM

peter no dts on my receiver not sure how old my receiver is but i think the dvd player is about two years old. now all i have to do is figure out what the difference between ac-3, coaxial and toslink/optic are. Don,

#14 of 17 OFFLINE   peter m. wilson

peter m. wilson

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 218 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2002

Posted April 09 2003 - 07:25 AM

Hi,
I think ac3 is if you have a lserdisc player only.
Coax and optical do exactly the same thing they pass the digital signal from a component to the reciever so don't use both from the dvd player or anything else. Choose 1 or the other and plug it in,

Did this stuff fall of a truck or do you have some sort of manual? If not do a Google search for manuals for each item, if your luckey you can dnld them.

Peter m.
dyslexia "for a cure found"

#15 of 17 OFFLINE   Don

Don

    Second Unit



  • 376 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted April 09 2003 - 09:18 AM

peter no it did not fall off a truck i've had it for a few years but never hooked it up because i never did find the speakers i wanted to use with it. and yes i do have the manual but it is not very clear to me. Don,

#16 of 17 OFFLINE   Ashleymc34

Ashleymc34

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 26 2010

Posted January 26 2010 - 04:33 PM

ADVICE PLEASE..

I won a Denon AVR 3200 on ebay for $90 shipped and wondering now what i got myself into!
Im no electonic person but have basic skills in electricity and such.
Currently I have a 10 year old 36" Sanyo TV with a basic fm tuner amp and 2 low cost speakers for sound.
Now after seeing and reading about this unit as it comes with no remote or manual is this a good deal or start for me to get better sound cheap or a nightmare I will be sorry I bought?? any thoughts appreciated!!
PS I can get the 3200 manual for another $22 ..is this whole project a wise way to go? Thanks great site!!

#17 of 17 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor



  • 8,160 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted January 27 2010 - 08:30 AM

I would get a Harmony remote so that you can map any remote button that you need to the Harmony.

Check your PM about your other issue.