Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Question on the Pioneer DVD-A players - 47Ai and 45A


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   Michael_T

Michael_T

    Second Unit



  • 461 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2001

Posted April 05 2003 - 09:15 AM

I am considering "upgrading" from the Technics DVD-A10 to a newer DVD-Audio player. I went to a local home-theater/stereo store where they had the two Pioneer players, 45A and 47Ai, as well as the Integra 9.3. I got to play around with all three players, but couldn't make an informed decision on sound quality since I was so focused on use-ability. That is what my question is based on. It appears that I couldn't change "GROUPS" on any DVD-Audio disc without digging down into the GUI/onscreen menus. My Technics easily changes Groups and Audio (stereo vs. MCH) via the remote - so that for 99% of the many DVD-Audio discs I own I do not need to use the TV monitor. Can you change groups on the Pioneer machines without having to navigate the on-screen menu system? Also, another feature that the Technics does is tell you exactly what you are playing just by looking at the players front panel and display. A specific light goes on when it plays 2-ch material and another for MCH. In addition a push of the Audio button will scroll the type of audio you are listening to, i.e., 96 24 6ch, etc. It appears the Pioneer's front panel display gives you no clue as to what kind of disc you are playing unless you have your TV on to show the on-screen display. Is there any way for the Pioneer machines to display exactly what kind of disc you are playing on the front panel display and at what resolution and bit depth? Thanks in advance for you answers.

#2 of 8 OFFLINE   Brian L

Brian L

    Screenwriter



  • 2,882 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 08 1998

Posted April 06 2003 - 04:47 AM

I think the answer is no on both questions. I have a 45a. To select groups requires entry into the menus (as far as I can tell). I suppose it might be possible by doing some sort of a search (haven't ried it, haven't checked the manual), but I think that would be as big a pain as going into the menu. As for telling what is playing on the front panel, you get some info, but not a lot. When a DVD-A is playing, it will indicate what "Group" is selected, which is the only way to tell that it is in fact a DVD-A. For SCAD and CD, it shows what "Track". There is also a DTS and DD indicator for DVD-V, but thats about it. You will need a monitor to see any details about what is playing (format, media type, number of channels, resolution, etc.). None of this has been a big problem in my rig for a couple of reasons. I normally always play the MC mix, which is what normally defaults. And, I do have a display so if I do want to switch, no biggy. That said, I can easily see why the lack of a decent front panel display would be a show stopper (or at least a big PITA) for a lot of users. BGL

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   Michael_T

Michael_T

    Second Unit



  • 461 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2001

Posted April 06 2003 - 05:32 AM

[quote] None of this has been a big problem in my rig for a couple of reasons. I normally always play the MC mix, which is what normally defaults. And, I do have a display so if I do want to switch, no biggy. [quote]

I like to play both the MCH and stereo mixes - that is why I ask. Like you I do have a display as part of my audio/home theater rig, but the purist in me likes to have the TV off and video circuits off/defeated when playing any kind of music. That is why being able to use a DVD-Audio player without a display is a feature I almost require. I would really hate to turn the TV on just to select groups and then shut it right off. A royal pain.

Thanks again for the response.

#4 of 8 OFFLINE   GarySI

GarySI

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 113 posts
  • Join Date: May 27 2002

Posted April 06 2003 - 12:50 PM

I have the 45DV-A and I really don't think it's a big thing to know what I'm playing. I think you are getting a little picky. As far as switching from 2-ch to MC you have go into the initial settings to switch(SACD). I will say the output section of the Pioneer is better than the Technics. This and the fact that it is a universal player is all I needed. As far as DVD-A is concerned it does default to the MC setting, but that is a fault of the software specs not the hardware.
I know the hearse is double parked and the motor's running.
It could be worse, it could be me.

#5 of 8 OFFLINE   Mark LP

Mark LP

    Agent



  • 47 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 18 2002

Posted April 07 2003 - 06:02 AM

I am using the Integra 8.3 which I think is what you are referring to. I have not found a way to change groups on the front panel or by remote. But, the front display will show which group it is playing(seems to defer to dvd-audio when available not dts or dolby). It will also allow you to see the bitrate but not the freq/sampling by pressing the display button. It has a very nice front panel display showing you exactly which channels are being output. There is another row of the words SACD, DVD, and CD which has an amber light in front of each to signify format.

#6 of 8 OFFLINE   Michael_T

Michael_T

    Second Unit



  • 461 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2001

Posted April 07 2003 - 08:53 AM

[quote] I am using the Integra 8.3 which I think is what you are referring to. [quote]

Sorry, yes I meant the 8.3. And yes the front panel display was so much more informative than those on the Pioneer. The Integra showed you what kind of disc you were playing and whether you were listening to MCH or Stereo right on the front panel. The Pioneer players would not give you this information on the front panel display - you had to use the GUI display.

#7 of 8 OFFLINE   Brad Newton

Brad Newton

    Second Unit



  • 386 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 14 2001

Posted April 07 2003 - 09:56 AM

Gary & Brian What is the picture quality of the 45a? Are you using progressive or interlaced? I know it is supposed to have the chroma bug, but can you see it? I presently have a JVC, but I want to upgrade. I am interested in this unit but I am unsure about the video quality.
May God Guide and Guard the USA!

#8 of 8 OFFLINE   Brian L

Brian L

    Screenwriter



  • 2,882 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 08 1998

Posted April 07 2003 - 10:12 AM

[quote] What is the picture quality of the 45a? Are you using progressive or interlaced? I know it is supposed to have the chroma bug, but can you see it? [quote]

I am using the 45a in progressive mode connected via component to a Pioneer 533 WS display. It is calibrated via Avia and VE, but is not ISF'd.

I do not see the chroma bug on the scenes from Toy Story and 5th Element that are mentioned in Secrets. It may exist on other scenes, but when I did not see it with the two examples listed, I did not look any further.

Subjectively, the picture looks quite good, however it will quickly separate the wheat from the chaff as far as picture quality. A good transfer will look great, a poor one will look poor (which is a good thing, I guess). Some transfers will look somewhat soft (AOTC for example) but are still pleasing.

On the other hand cue up Monsters Inc. if you want to see what a really good transfer looks like.

Overall I am pretty happy with it, but I must admit that I have never A/B'd it with any other progressive player, so you might want to do some comparison shopping, or perhaps buy from a shop that will allow for a return. Its a shame that Panasonic discontinued the RP82 (I think that was the one) that Secrets crowned as the king. I would have liked to see how it looked in my rig compared to the 45A.

Best Regards,

Brian




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users