Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Any NEW boxes for switching dvd-a/sacd ?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
19 replies to this topic

#1 of 20 OFFLINE   anthony_b

anthony_b

    Screenwriter



  • 1,074 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 18 2000

Posted April 04 2003 - 03:01 AM

Are there any new devices out there to switch between SACD and DVD-A ? (I know about the radio shack boxes, but I was wondering if there's anything new out there).
Think before you speak....Peace always

#2 of 20 OFFLINE   Brian L

Brian L

    Screenwriter



  • 2,882 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 08 1998

Posted April 04 2003 - 03:20 AM

There are some switch boxes available from MCM electronics that are somewhat higher quality (at least in terms of fit and finish) than the RS boxes. I had posted a link some time ago but could not find now. They were about $10 each.

These A/V switchers will actually switch 4 devices. As with the RS box, you will need two boxes, but you could conceivably switch 4 separate 5.1 sources.

I have two that I use to switch a Pioneer 45a, and another DD decoder into an ICBM. They are transparent to my ears, although I am sure some will disagree.

BGL

#3 of 20 OFFLINE   Charles Gurganus

Charles Gurganus

    Supporting Actor



  • 689 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 02 1999

Posted April 04 2003 - 07:46 AM

Niles has a PS-1 box that sells for about $50 but you would need 3 of them.
Charles

#4 of 20 OFFLINE   Dan Hitchman

Dan Hitchman

    Screenwriter



  • 2,714 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 11 1999

Posted April 05 2003 - 03:19 PM

If you haven't bought the players yet, I'd suggest waiting to see what the next generation of universal players bring.

Denon may be the first to offer a universal player (DVD-2900) that keeps DSD bitstreams intact all the way through with no conversion (even some SACD-only players convert it to PCM at some stage). I'm sure more will follow. And then next year look for player transports with standardized (finally) IEEE 1394 connections so you don't have to buy 6 or more analog cords (once you hook it to a new receiver or pre-amp with the decoding built-in).

Dan

#5 of 20 OFFLINE   John-Miles

John-Miles

    Screenwriter



  • 1,201 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 29 2001

Posted April 06 2003 - 01:30 AM

I believe the Yamaha keeps the DSD bitstream intact for the whole process as well, thats why it dosent offer time allignment on SACD.
Cheers

John

#6 of 20 OFFLINE   James Elvick

James Elvick

    Supporting Actor



  • 694 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 12 1999

Posted April 06 2003 - 04:06 AM

I'm using a Shawn Fogg Switchbox and think it work perfect. I've also used a TA-P9000es but did not want to run my amps that way. I started with the RS switchers and they worked fine but wanted to be able switch via remote control.

BTW, i have 2 of the RS switches #15-1587 that I'll trade for a DVD-A or multi SACD.Posted Image

Here's a link to the Fogg Box:

http://home.attbi.com/~shawnfogg/

James Elvick

#7 of 20 OFFLINE   Elias

Elias

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 52 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 31 2002

Posted April 06 2003 - 04:48 PM

James,

In your opinion, is there a sonic difference between the RS switches and the Shawn Fogg box? Certainly, the Fogg box looks snazzier, but does it make a difference?

I am considering either buying his box or creating my own box using 4PDT switches, gold-plated RCA jacks, and lots of wire and solder-- but only if there is a significant difference in the sound quality.

Elias

#8 of 20 OFFLINE   Tony Genovese

Tony Genovese

    Supporting Actor



  • 814 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2000

Posted April 07 2003 - 06:28 AM

Not only does the Fogg Box look snazzier, it can be triggered remotely, so you don't have to manually switch between SACD and DVDA. I find this a BIG convenience. It works great with my RDC-7A and is well worth the dough IMHO.

#9 of 20 OFFLINE   Mark Leitch

Mark Leitch

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 125 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2002

Posted April 07 2003 - 06:57 AM

I admit the Fogg Box looks nice... though I am curious about anyone using the JVC JX-S111 as a 7.1 switch in one box (it is unclear if you can select multiple sources for the multiple monitor/zone outputs). If it does, it seems like it may be a pretty good deal for approx 80USD.

M.

#10 of 20 OFFLINE   Brian L

Brian L

    Screenwriter



  • 2,882 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 08 1998

Posted April 07 2003 - 10:27 AM

I would give this a shot before the RS switch:

http://www.mcmelectr....jsp?id=50-6195

I doubt that it would sound any better or worse (actually, I don't think switches sound like anything) but the build quality is lot better (its got a steel case), and the rotary switch has a nice feel to it.

I have a 4 input version that works fine in my rig. I was unable to find the RS boxes locally, went on-line and found these. You will need 2.

Brian

#11 of 20 OFFLINE   Mike Loiterman

Mike Loiterman

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 212 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 24 2000

Posted April 07 2003 - 04:35 PM

Does the Fogg box add or detract from the sound quaility of the original source?

#12 of 20 OFFLINE   Stephen Dodds

Stephen Dodds

    Second Unit



  • 356 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 29 1998

Posted April 08 2003 - 12:55 AM

How would the JVC box work? I could only count a possible 5 RCA inputs you could switch, L&R audio, and the three components.

Steve

#13 of 20 OFFLINE   Mark Leitch

Mark Leitch

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 125 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2002

Posted April 08 2003 - 03:03 AM

I am unclear on the way the JVC works... I have been told that it has two sets of inputs and outputs... and if they were discrete it would have a lot of switching possibilities (not sure if I am being a bonehead... but it seems kinda unique ;-)

M.

#14 of 20 OFFLINE   anthony_b

anthony_b

    Screenwriter



  • 1,074 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 18 2000

Posted April 11 2003 - 06:56 AM

The admin at the QUADRAPHONIC forum does not recommend using AV switches due to the fact that the video input was not meant for audio and therfore provide a low quality sound ?....I've read many forum members here are happy with the Radio shack boxes. Has anyone noticed any change in sound quality ?...the last thing I want to do is mess up the sound on my new 222ES Posted Image
Think before you speak....Peace always

#15 of 20 OFFLINE   Brian L

Brian L

    Screenwriter



  • 2,882 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 08 1998

Posted April 11 2003 - 07:29 AM

Quote:
The admin at the QUADRAPHONIC forum does not recommend using AV switches due to the fact that the video input was not meant for audio and therefore provide a low quality sound


My advise: Buy one, try it, and make your own call. The cost is so cheap you really have nothing to lose.

I have noticed no degradation whatsoever with the MCM switches previously noted. That said, I have also not done any sort of scientific A/B/X testing or any measurements between switched and unswitched. My ears are very happy with what they are hearing.

Then again, I am also an unwashed heathen who thinks that cable is cable, and any claims to the contrary are total and absolute BSPosted Image So, knowing that, I am sure you will apply the appropriate filters to my views.

I too have read supposed "engineering" analyses of why a switch will degrade the sound, dealing with issues of channel isolation, crosstalk, bandwidth, etc. I take it all with a heavy dose of skepticism. I suspect that if you open up one of these boxes, you will probably find nothing but a PCB with a bunch of copper traces, attached to the actual switches and jacks. It may even be a total hard-wire job, but I should think that would be somewhat labor intensive to buld and sell for < $10.

IMHO, AFAIK, YMMV......

BGL

#16 of 20 OFFLINE   Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown

    Producer



  • 5,713 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 03 2000

Posted April 11 2003 - 07:51 AM

I have a Sony switch box with audio and video paths. I opened it up because I was curious as to how it was wired, and voila, the video path was indentical to the audio paths...
If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ...

#17 of 20 OFFLINE   Brian L

Brian L

    Screenwriter



  • 2,882 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 08 1998

Posted April 11 2003 - 08:33 AM

Quote:
I have a Sony switch box with audio and video paths. I opened it up because I was curious as to how it was wired, and voila, the video path was indentical to the audio paths...


I AM SHOCKED!!!!!!!!Posted Image

BGL

#18 of 20 OFFLINE   Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown

    Producer



  • 5,713 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 03 2000

Posted April 11 2003 - 05:13 PM

I have to be honest too: we all get freaked out by using cheap cables and stuff right? But this sucker had little wires etched onto one of those green circuit boards. Ain't no way that it was better than even 22 gauge I bet. Makes me wonder what kind of wiring is inside even good quality receivers, pre/pros, power amps and stuff...
If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ...

#19 of 20 OFFLINE   KeithH

KeithH

    Lead Actor



  • 9,427 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 28 2000

Posted April 12 2003 - 12:55 AM

While everyone is looking for more expensive and "snazzier" switch boxes (Posted Image), I've been using the $15 Radio Shack switch boxes for over a year and continue to be very happy with them. Frankly, this is one item in this hobby that it makes no sense to spend big money on. Just my $0.02. The Radio Shack switch boxes aren't fancy and have no remote, but they work and work well.


Dan said:

Quote:
I'd suggest waiting to see what the next generation of universal players bring.


Yeah, a universal player could act as a switch box. Nice job of thinking outside of the box(es)! Posted Image
My:
Main Stereo and HT Systems ;
Second Stereo System ;
Equipment List ; DVDs, SACDs, and more ;
Planned Upgrades and Additions "You know, the tomato never took off as a handfruit."- George Costanza

#20 of 20 OFFLINE   Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown

    Producer



  • 5,713 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 03 2000

Posted April 12 2003 - 09:46 AM

Keith- Shame, shame.

It's thinking "inside all of 1 box" that gets you a uni-player... Posted Image
If it's not worth waiting until the last minute to do, then it's not worth doing.

KevinVision 7.1 ...





Forum Nav Content I Follow