Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Cassette recorder only records on one channel.


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   EdNichols

EdNichols

    Second Unit



  • 372 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 15 2003

Posted April 04 2003 - 12:20 AM

I was recording from a CD to a cassette and only one channel was recording. How do I fix that? Does the tape head need cleaning?

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   Jerome Grate

Jerome Grate

    Screenwriter



  • 2,935 posts
  • Join Date: May 23 1999

Posted April 04 2003 - 12:34 AM

How was everything hooked up, was it from the cd player directly to the tape recorder, or was it through a receiver or pre-amp, give us some information so we can help you.
Listen Up People.., Rack Em and Pack Em.., We're Phantoms in 15.

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   EdNichols

EdNichols

    Second Unit



  • 372 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 15 2003

Posted April 04 2003 - 12:42 AM

From CD to Reciever and from Receiver to cassette deck. Thing is, I have recorded many times before (not lately) and it worked fine. Could it be that I bumped something and knocked a connection loose?

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   Jerome Grate

Jerome Grate

    Screenwriter



  • 2,935 posts
  • Join Date: May 23 1999

Posted April 04 2003 - 12:47 AM

That could be it, check your connections from the deck to receiver, it sounds like that may be your problem, especially if you move the receiver often to dust or clean behind it.
Listen Up People.., Rack Em and Pack Em.., We're Phantoms in 15.

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   Marvin

Marvin

    Screenwriter



  • 1,450 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 09 1999

Posted April 04 2003 - 02:11 AM

Also, does your cassette deck have different level controls for each channel? If so, was one turned down all the way?

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   EdNichols

EdNichols

    Second Unit



  • 372 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 15 2003

Posted April 04 2003 - 02:53 AM

Thanks guys. I will look at both of these ideas.

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   TomCW

TomCW

    Second Unit



  • 339 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 04 2002

Posted April 04 2003 - 03:17 AM

If the cables are all ok, the heads are clean, and if it's an older deck with mechanical switching, it could be a dirty Play/Record Switch.
Toggle between play and record repeatedly and see if it starts working. You may have to 'pop the top' and go after the offender with spray electronics cleaner.
Tom
I like to live in an altered state/ it makes me love all the things I hate.