What's new

Need advice on ~$200 Receiver (1 Viewer)

svenge

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Svenge Guttensen
I'm a poor college student who for some reason has a compulsion to have a home theater of his own. The problem is that I have very little money to work with. These are the items that I already have to work with, and please don't laugh :-/

Cyberhome 500 DVD Player w/ DD and DTS decoder ($80)
Jensen JTH-525 5.1 speakers ($40 bucks after using gift certificates)

And these are the receiver models that I'm looking at (all ~$200 which is my maximum)

JVC RX-6030VBK
Kenwood VR-606
Panasonic SA-HE70
Pioneer VSX-D411
Sony STR-DE595 Black

Which unit do you think would be the best suited for my setup?

Brett DiMichele

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Brett
No laughing from me.. We all started off at similar places
in this hobby unless we were born with a gold spoon in our
mouthes.

I think in your price range any of these units will offer
similar performance. I think the deciding factors for you
will be which features of each are the most beneficial to
your requirements.

I believe that your best bet would be to sit down and think
about what you want the reciever to do, what features are a
must have and then go from there untill you narrow it down
to the unit that best suits your needs.

It would not hurt to demo each of these units in person also
if possible to see how they sound and perform.

Good Luck!

Allen:B

Auditioning
I think you would be happy going even lower down on the price scale. I got a really good deal on a Sherwood RD6106. Mine was only $69 but I think it would be a bargin at twice that. It has Pro-Logic, DD and DTS. I have a similar budget for my home theater and am very satisfied so far. Check out these reviews:

http://partner.consumerreview.com/re...ite_ProductID%

Adam.Gonsman

Stunt Coordinator