Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

- - - - -

4 ohm Speakers on VSX-45TX

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 of 4 OFFLINE   James^Brian

• 29 posts

Posted April 02 2003 - 04:38 PM

I'm a newbie to this Home Theater realm, and have read the posts trying to learn as much as I can. To begin my system, I bought the receiver first, the Pioneer Elite VSX-45TX. Now I am trying figure out which speakers to buy for a 5.1 initial set-up. I really like the Vienna Accoutics--Bach's and Waltz for front and surround sound speakers. The only problem is that the Waltz need 4 ohm (spelled correctly??), and from what I can tell my receiver doesn't have a set-up to drive speakers below 6 ohm. Will I hurt reciever or speakers (or both) if I set up 4ohm speakers up to this reciever. Is my only option if I want to drive 4ohm speakers is to buy an amp and use the pre-outs?

#2 of 4 OFFLINE   Frank Zimkas

Frank Zimkas

Supporting Actor

• 889 posts

Posted April 02 2003 - 11:58 PM

I was using my Pioneer Elite VSX-37TX to drive my Lsi speakers which are also rated at 4 ohms. The receiver ran a lot hotter than normal so I added a 7 channel Outlaw amp. Check out this thread.
http://www.hometheat....ht=outlaw 7100

You might want to do a search in the Receivers/Seperates/Amps section on this subject as well, it was been covered in great detail in previous threads.

#3 of 4 OFFLINE   Cees Alons

Cees Alons

Executive Producer

• 19,050 posts

Posted April 03 2003 - 12:33 AM

James, Welcome to the forum. Although (with some care) it's not impossible to drive 4 Ohms speakers from an 8 Ohm amp, it's not advisable, certainly not when you start. I think it would be wise in your case to look around and find a nice set of 8 Ohms speakers. There are plenty! Cees

#4 of 4 OFFLINE   James^Brian