-Not Logged In-

Jump to content

Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

- - - - -

AVM-20 Owners - Remote Question

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 OFFLINE   Mike O'Connell

Mike O'Connell

    Second Unit

  • 490 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 14 1999
  • Real Name:Mike
  • LocationOverland Park KS

Posted March 31 2003 - 03:16 PM

I am considering this unit, but am wondering how "universal" the remote is actually. Can the remote be programmed with macros? Can the remote learn from any other remote? As good as this unit sounds, it would be a disappointment if the remote was not truly universal and somewhat programmable. Thanks, Mike

#2 of 9 OFFLINE   Jeff_Blanch



  • 32 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 12 2001

Posted April 01 2003 - 03:49 AM

Well, I don't own the AVM-20, but the remote looks suspiciously like the famed RS 15-1994 (which I own). I was at a dealer a while ago that had the Anthem on display and I took a look at the remote. Opening the battery compartment, I saw the JP1 connector intact. Although I haven't heard of anyone doing it with the Anthem remote, you could probably program it using your computer and that connector on the remote. These remotes are capable of nearly limitless macros, learning almost any device. Check out www.hifi-remote.com/jp1 for more info on the computer hookup. What I can't figure out is why a $3000 processor comes with a remote that seems nearly identical to a Radio Shack remote that costs $30 - $40. Maybe some Anthem owners could chime in on their experiences with the remote.


#3 of 9 OFFLINE   JimmyK


    Second Unit

  • 479 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 21 2002
  • Real Name:Jim

Posted April 01 2003 - 05:56 AM

I'm not sure about the macros as I've no use for that feature at this time....I'll have to check the owners manual (BTW, the manual is available online at http://www.anthemav.....OwnersMan.html )

There is a large list of codes for different manufacturers in the back of the manual you can use. You can also "teach" the AVM20 remote the codes from any other remote. I have used this feature and it is a simple process with great results.

Now I can use the AVM20 remote to control my TV, DVD player, CD player, VCR, and MD recorder.

One feature I like is the ability to program the remote's volume control to always control the AVM20 no matter what component you are otherwise controlling. For example, while I'm using the remote to control the CD player, I can change the volume on the AVM20 without have to select the AVM20 on the remote.

Hope this helps.


#4 of 9 OFFLINE   Tom Camlioglu

Tom Camlioglu

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 145 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 02 1999

Posted April 01 2003 - 06:23 AM

I think the key word here is "looks".

IMO - the remote that comes with the Arcam FMJ-AV8 (remote model CR80) is the clone of the one with the Anthem.

JimmyK pretty much reflects my sentiments as well.

TomPosted Image

#5 of 9 OFFLINE   Jeff_Blanch



  • 32 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 12 2001

Posted April 01 2003 - 10:21 AM

OK, I did a little more searching on the remote control. It is an OEM made by UEI, the same company that makes Radio Shack and One For All remotes. The JP1 connector really gives it away, as it is only found on UEI remotes. Both the Anthem and the Arcam remotes are made by UEI. Compare the two:
I also looked at the Anthem's online manual. The keystrokes to program it's remote are identical to the keystrokes for my 15-1994. I would say that the RS and the Anthem are more like brothers than look-a-likes. I'm positive that by using the JP1 connector, one could make the Anthem's remote more powerful than it comes originally. To answer the original question, according to Anthem's online manual, the remote does not have macros, but does have learning capability.

#6 of 9 OFFLINE   Camp



  • 2,303 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 03 1999

Posted April 01 2003 - 12:15 PM

The best part about the Anthem remote is the cool tacky rubbery feel it has. Other than that, I never really used mine.

#7 of 9 OFFLINE   Bryce Miner

Bryce Miner

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 134 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 02 2002

Posted April 02 2003 - 03:56 AM

That's why I bought a B&K Ref 50. The MX-700 is hard to beat!

#8 of 9 OFFLINE   Arthur Vino

Arthur Vino

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 208 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 13 2003

Posted April 02 2003 - 04:13 AM

I wish Anthem would include mx-500, 600 or better yet 700 with it. It would add a tremendous value to it.. Parasound Halo units come with it.

#9 of 9 OFFLINE   Prathavan V

Prathavan V

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 128 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 25 2002

Posted April 02 2003 - 05:01 AM

Neat thread discussion. Also cool to see the links Jeff provided. Thanks. I've never used my Anthem remote. I've never even stuck the batteries in it. I got the CCF from Anthem's website before my AVM was delivered, and I've been using my Marantz RC5000i (Like a Pronto) since then. To me, I'm glad Anthem didn't include a nicer remote since that would've added to the price. I suppose if they could have given a nicer remote with the SAME price that would be a different story, however unlikely. In fact, it would've been nice if they had a "delete option" for the remote discounting the price accordingly (even if would only be 40 or 50 bucks). I bought the Anthem for the sound not the remote, and I'm very pleased with it in that regard. Having said all that, it seems like a nice enough remote, the people that are using it seem to like it, and it does most everything that people ask of it. What more do you really want??
Pro V

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users