What's new

Help for a newbie please (1 Viewer)

Jeremy Scott

Second Unit
Hi, I am new to home theatre.
I just bought a sony home theatre system, model ht-ddw840.
I will soon be getting a new dvd player but for right now, i am using my ps2. I cant get the DOLBY DIGITAL to light up on the display of the reciever, all that lights up is the PRO LOGIC display.

How do i get dolby digital to work?
My reciever is capable of it i know.

Cees Alons

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Cees Alons
Jeremy,

Welcome to the forum!

What audio connection are you using? It should be either the coax or a Toslink (optical). Not: "stereo" plugs.

Also, check all settings of your receiver, you must be sure the proper input channel is chosen (the coax or the Toslink) and the Dolby Digital setting activated.
(And the DVD must be set to DD 5.1 too!)

Good luck and please let us know if you succeed.

Cees

Jeremy Scott

Second Unit
i bought a optical digital cable yesterday to hook into the dvd (ps2) and the reciever.

i went to the ps2 setup and put digital output on.

so if i am using a optical digital connection from the ps2 to the recieevr, do i still have to plug the ps2 RCA's to the receiever?

i dont get it, the OPT displays on the receiver but the DOLBY DIGITAL will not, maybe the ps2 is not capable of it, but then why is the ps2 have a dolby digital setting control?

Cees Alons

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Cees Alons
Jeremy,

No, better use one at a time. So you should leave the RCA cable out if you have an optical one. Some receivers even don't want to see stereo cables if they are to use the DD processing. Consult the manual.

Make sure all settings now enable DD: possible DVD-player settings (sound or audio options), settings of the receiver: choice of the input plug (is there a switch next to the Toslink?), choice of the sound mode. Then make sure you have a DD 5.1 DVD playing and the menu set to the DD 5.1 audio (if necessary).