-

Jump to content



- - - - -

To those who have dedicated lines AC lines


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 Guest_Hank_*

Guest_Hank_*
  • Join Date: --

Posted March 28 2003 - 10:21 PM

I'm getting 2 dedicated 15amp AC lines installed next week. After everything is setup again and plugged in what should I listen for? Did any of the other members hear a difference after having dedicated lines? My gear is listed below.

My power conditioning products include PS Audio P300 Power Plant, PS Audio Ultimate Outlet (high current version), PS Audio Power Port (wall duplex).

#2 of 9 PaulT

PaulT

    Supporting Actor

  • 932 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 28 2002

Posted March 29 2003 - 01:56 AM

Hank, since you are taking the plunge for new lines anyway, I might suggest asking your Electrician how much of a difference he will charge you for 2 x 20Amp lines instead.

That way you will be set in future should you decide to go with separates / higher powered amps or more equipment Posted Image.

Can't answer your initial question for you, but thought I would offer up the above suggestion.
"One of the problems of taking things apart and seeing how they work--supposing you're trying to find out how a cat works--you take that cat apart to see how it works, what you've got in your hands is a non-working cat." -- Douglas Adams

#3 of 9 Lee Bailey

Lee Bailey

    Second Unit

  • 263 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 08 2000

Posted March 29 2003 - 02:24 AM

With all the PS Audio stuff you already have installed, I would not think you'll see or hear a lot of difference. But, every little bit helps!
The Bailey's Home Theatre in Our Living Room

#4 of 9 Neal_C

Neal_C

    Second Unit

  • 476 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 15 2001

Posted March 29 2003 - 11:42 AM

I had two 20 amp outlets installed and I feel like it really allowed my Rotel amp to open up and make my Def. Techs sing like I thought they should. I considered spending money on Richard Grey or PS Audio equipment, but I was steered by fine folks on here as well as AVS to first try a dedicated outlet. I am very glad I did.
It only costs me $211 to have both circuits and a whole house surge protector installed (that is total cost including labor and materials).
I now feel more comfortable having my amp plugged directly into the wall.

It is a very worth-while investment.

Neal

#5 of 9 Chu Gai

Chu Gai

    Lead Actor

  • 7,270 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 29 2001

Posted March 29 2003 - 01:11 PM

Neal, did you ever pick up on an ancillary device for the other equipment? BTW, you can always get those cool looking hospital or heavy duty outlets and put them in yourself. As a personal bias, i prefer attaching the wires to the outlets via screws rather stabbing them.

#6 of 9 Neal_C

Neal_C

    Second Unit

  • 476 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 15 2001

Posted March 29 2003 - 01:15 PM

Chu,
I already had a Monster 3600 that everything else is plugged into. I couldn't find anyone locally with hospital grade outlets in a white color, so I just had them use commercial grade 20 amp outlets.

Neal

#7 of 9 Chu Gai

Chu Gai

    Lead Actor

  • 7,270 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 29 2001

Posted March 29 2003 - 01:28 PM

i'd forgotten that...
to the poster, i'd consider having a whole house unit put in and that way you'd have legitimate surge protection for everything in your home.

#8 of 9 Brian tj

Brian tj

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 68 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 11 2003

Posted March 29 2003 - 11:24 PM

Hi to all
I must agree with Paul GO 20 amps $ diff is small. I just did my room with one 20 amp line and along the way I switched BK 507 receiver to BK ref 50 + ref 200.7 amp. The amp alone pulls 18.5 amps. I just ran a new 20 amp line for every thing ells.Posted Image

Good luck Brian

PS I used surgeX for protection.
Brian tj

#9 of 9 Guest_Hank_*

Guest_Hank_*
  • Join Date: --

Posted March 30 2003 - 11:17 AM

Looks like I'll be doin' 20amp instead. Thanks guys for the info.