Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Hook your computer up to your TV now


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 of 12 OFFLINE   Timon Russo

Timon Russo

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 213 posts
  • Join Date: May 10 2000

Posted March 28 2003 - 07:01 AM

I can't believe I waited a year to do it. I don't know whats going on exactly, I suppose its downconverting 1024x768 to 640x480 or whatever, but it looks great to me and I am having a blast playing Medal of Honor in 65" glory thru my HT speakers. Its a Dell 4500 with S-Vid out and I didn't have to do anything to configure it. Just plugged in the S-video to the TV and started playing. Happy joy.

#2 of 12 OFFLINE   Brae

Brae

    Supporting Actor



  • 509 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 25 2002

Posted March 29 2003 - 12:43 PM

Well, actually its interlacing it also. Have you been able to discern any significant overscan when the desktop is projected noto the TV screen?

#3 of 12 OFFLINE   Scott L

Scott L

    Producer



  • 4,466 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 29 2000

Posted March 29 2003 - 01:24 PM

There are some 3rd party programs that control the TV-outs for the popular graphics cards. TV Tool is the one I use for my GF4 Ti400. It looks much better than the one that is included with the drivers and there are many settings to fix under/overscan, brightness, and color. Timon- you play MOH online any? If so are you in a clan?

#4 of 12 OFFLINE   Timon Russo

Timon Russo

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 213 posts
  • Join Date: May 10 2000

Posted March 30 2003 - 07:52 AM

The image doesn't quite fill the entire screen, but its certainly not chopped off anywhere. I noticed that it stayed on 60 hertz when I reconnected it to my monitor. I manually put it back to 75. I haven't played any online MOH yet; I always kinda figured the more experienced players would kick my ass like they did when I tried Quake a while back. Plus, I only have dial-up. Would it even work?

#5 of 12 OFFLINE   Brae

Brae

    Supporting Actor



  • 509 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 25 2002

Posted March 30 2003 - 09:21 AM

Timon, its just playing safe as it does not wish to over-drive your television with a refresh above 60-Hz. It is interesting that the S-Video 'boxed' your desktop into what I can only imagnie is an under-scanned condition. On your 65" RPTV how much of a border is there around the PC desktop image?

#6 of 12 OFFLINE   Timon Russo

Timon Russo

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 213 posts
  • Join Date: May 10 2000

Posted March 30 2003 - 10:29 PM

I'd say about 1" of black border on each side. But I cranked my overscan down on the set to around 3% last year.

#7 of 12 OFFLINE   Brae

Brae

    Supporting Actor



  • 509 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 25 2002

Posted March 31 2003 - 12:27 AM

Cranking the overscan to 3% still should mean that an unboxed display of your computer's desktop should lose about 3% of that desktop--unless I am misunderstanding overscan completely. It sounds like the video card manufacturer took the overscan condition into account, especially for those not aware or capable of adjusting their overscan.

#8 of 12 OFFLINE   Timon Russo

Timon Russo

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 213 posts
  • Join Date: May 10 2000

Posted March 31 2003 - 01:32 AM

Brae, that almost makes sense to me, but you know a heck of lot more about it!!

#9 of 12 OFFLINE   Brae

Brae

    Supporting Actor



  • 509 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 25 2002

Posted March 31 2003 - 01:34 AM

On the contrary. I know just barely enough to be dangerous. Good thing I don't go suggesting a lot of things to people or there would be displays blowing up from California to NYC! Posted Image

#10 of 12 OFFLINE   Tekara

Tekara

    Supporting Actor



  • 783 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 08 2003

Posted March 31 2003 - 05:53 AM

games always look pretty good when you play them on a television. they just tend to really like the TV's dithering method. but the resolution is crap. . . I have a computer in my home theater that I occaisionally play some ghost recon on, and while it looks great it's a bit harder for extreme range sniper shots than on my monitor where I can run 1600x1200. but nevertheless, the big screen makes it worth it Posted Image.
"Computers are a lot like air conditioners - they both work great until you open windows." -Anonymous
"The danger from computers is not that they will eventually get as smart as men, but that we will agree to meet them halfway." -Bernard Avishai

#11 of 12 OFFLINE   Scott L

Scott L

    Producer



  • 4,466 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 29 2000

Posted March 31 2003 - 11:52 AM

Rob amen! I pretty much stopped playing on my 32" wega after making the sniper rifle my favorite gun in Medal of Honor. The HT is great for machine gun fights but for precision and accuracy where resolution matters the TV can't hack it. Posted Image

#12 of 12 OFFLINE   Brae

Brae

    Supporting Actor



  • 509 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 25 2002

Posted March 31 2003 - 12:05 PM

I'll be shooting for 1440x960 in my HT.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users