-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Volume different for each source


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   Brian Ralph

Brian Ralph

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 140 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 29 2000

Posted March 27 2003 - 03:33 AM

My receiver has two optical and two coax audio inputs. My cd player and HD receiver use the coax via an optical - coax converter from Parts Express. My dvd player and DirecTv/TIVO use the optical.

Each source seems to have wildly different volume requirements. The most glaring is HD or DVD to TIVO. Normal listening volume on TIVO is -45 to -50, but for HD and DVD I have to turn it up to -30 or so to get to the same "normal" listening volume. The CD player is about the same as DVD and HD. I guess the only one that seems to be way off is the TIVO.

Is there a reasonable explantion, or even better, a solution to get them all to approximately the same levels?

Equipment:

Receiver: Harmon Kardon AVR500
DVD player: Panasonic RP62
HD receiver: RCA DTC100
DirecTV/TIVO: Sony T-60

#2 of 8 OFFLINE   Rick_Brown

Rick_Brown

    Second Unit

  • 449 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2001

Posted March 27 2003 - 03:56 AM

My receiver (Integra 6.2) has a setting called "Intellivolume" that allows me to preset an adjustment to the volume of each source. You might want to have a look in your manual for something equivalent. Good luck.

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   Jack Briggs

Jack Briggs

    Executive Producer

  • 16,725 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 03 1999

Posted March 27 2003 - 04:03 AM

Brian, what you're describing is perfectly normal. Each source outputs at different amplitude levels and, therefore, your receiver/system plays them back at different levels.

#4 of 8 OFFLINE   RobWil

RobWil

    Supporting Actor

  • 733 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 17 2003

Posted March 27 2003 - 05:27 AM

On the same note, I have a dual LNB dish with a sattelite receiver upstairs and one downstairs. The upstairs receiver is one of the original RCA's and the one downstairs is one of the original Sony's. The only choice for audio on both is analog. I've noticed that when listening to the sattelite
music channels upstairs , I have to turn the volume up to around -10 to -15db and downstairs the normal -20 to -25db is all that's needed. Are the two different sattelite receivers outputing the audio at different levels then, as Jack describes above?
that's my story and I'm stickin' to it!

#5 of 8 OFFLINE   Darryl

Darryl

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 165 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 17 2002

Posted March 27 2003 - 05:44 AM

A lot of receivers let you adjust the volume of each channel for each input. Just adjust the volume for each channel while listening to the oddball input. If the volume is too terribly different, you may have to adjust the volume down for each channel for TIVO, and up for each channel for every other input.

#6 of 8 OFFLINE   Brian Ralph

Brian Ralph

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 140 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 29 2000

Posted March 27 2003 - 06:33 AM

Quote:
My receiver (Integra 6.2) has a setting called "Intellivolume" that allows me to preset an adjustment to the volume of each source. You might want to have a look in your manual for something equivalent. Good luck.


Looks like my HK 500 can do this too. I'll give it a try.

#7 of 8 OFFLINE   Brian Ralph

Brian Ralph

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 140 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 29 2000

Posted March 28 2003 - 12:10 AM

Turns out my receiver cannot preset the volume for each source. I can just preset the volume for when the unit is turned on.

I also don't see anywhere in the TIVO T-60 to set volume for channels.

Looks like I'll just have to deal with it.

Thanks everyone!

#8 of 8 OFFLINE   Jerome Grate

Jerome Grate

    Screenwriter

  • 2,934 posts
  • Join Date: May 23 1999

Posted March 28 2003 - 12:45 AM

Now that I have everything going through my HK 500, video and audio, I utilize the osd (ON SCREEN DISPLAY) to set the speaker volumes for each device. I was running the DVD player through "COAX 1" but through Video 1. But when I selected DVD on the HK and "COAX 1", the speaker setting were all set to 0 including the sub. Once I set each speaker volume to match Video 1 Coax 1 that did the trick. I was now getting the same volume when I selected DVD Coax 1 as well as Video 1 Coax 1.
Listen Up People.., Rack Em and Pack Em.., We're Phantoms in 15.