What's new

Infocus X1 Questions (1 Viewer)

Mathew Shelby

Second Unit
I have a couple quick questions regarding this projector. I had all of 45 minutes to play with it before having to go to work.

1. Why is digital cable black and white when I hook it up through S-Video?
2. What is the best method for turning it off. Do I want to flip the switch on the side or just use the power off on the remote? (I am looking to conserve lamp life here)
3. Why must the projector sit two feet from the ground in order to project onto the wall? I had really wanted to put it on the top shelf of a bookshelf but the image is halfway on the wall and halfway on the ceiling.

Please talk SLOW, as I am a total newbie when it comes to projectors.

Max Leung

Senior HTF Member
1. Bad cable?

2. You should use the remote or the Standby/Power button (NOT the power on/off rocker switch) so that the projector can the fan long enough to cool the bulb before shutting down. This will protect the lamp. (The real reason: Using the rocker switch to turn it off, then turning on the projector again can blow up the bulb because the fan was not engaged to cool it off).

3. Most projectors project the image upwards at an angle, because most presentation projectors are placed on a table that is always below the screen.

Does your projector have the ability to flip the image upside-down? Check the manual. If so, then you can place the projector on the shelf, upside-down (being careful not to block the ventilation), to get a proper image on the wall.

Fred Seger

Stunt Coordinator
1) Like Max said - probably a bad S Video cable - I had the same problem on a tv with s-video